Posted by: fitartist | November 15, 2011

Knit yourself fit

I thought I should drop by and say hello, I realise I haven’t blogged for a few weeks now and imagine you think me quite rude. As is usual in our house right now, we have been variously under a layer of dust, covered in paint or admiring our new kitchen. Last Tuesday marked one year in our south London house, and we were able to look back and see just how much we have achieved in that time, not just all the DIY mayhem, but making new friends, getting to know our new area and Hector starting nursery. What a busy year!

I have been running, but just not finding time to share this. The weather has been lovely and I was determined to make the most of it at the weekend, and even did a short-sleeved run on Sunday morning – apparently this is one of the mildest Novembers for many years. I don’t know if it was the sunshine, the beautiful trees or the big bowl of steaming porridge I had for breakfast, but something gave me a spring in my step as I ran faster than I have in a long time. It wasn’t a long run – I’m not training for anything in particular right now, just ticking over – but it was very enjoyable.

Distance: 4.03 miles

Time: 37 minutes 20 seconds

Average Pace: 9.15

Best Pace: 1.06 (obviously a blip!)

Calories: 429 (I seem to have sorted out the odd calorie readings by resetting the watch to factory settings).

In other news, London has been successful in bidding for the 2017 World Athletics Championships, which will forge a stronger legacy for next year’s Olympic Games and, to celebrate, knitters around the world will be click-clicking at top speed to create little homages to their Olympic heroes. I’m not sure my knitting skills will cut it, but I know some of my running knitting friends have what it takes.

Responses

  1. Best pace is never a blip… its normally diving across the road to aviod being run over!

    • Oh yes, there is that or, on this run, probably trying not to get tripped up by the cutest spaniel puppy ever.

  2. Brilliant pace! Can’t wait to see all your little Olympic knitbugs!

    • Hmmmm, not entirely sure I will ever have the knitting skills for this kind of project, I wish! They are very funny though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

