Posted by: fitartist | June 12, 2012

Blurry running

Will it ever stop? I legged it behind Hector on his bike ride to school and couldn’t see a thing by the time we got there: a combination of letterbox glasses, sweat, rain and condensation. Nice. So this was the pattern of my run: head down, run a bit, look up, realise I can’t see, pause, wipe glasses, put them back on, realise they’re all smeary, wipe them again, carry on and so on. I headed into Ladywell and Brockley Cemeteries, always an interesting detour but not one I am familiar enough with not to get lost amongst the headstones and undergrowth. I must have looked a funny sight going up paths, realising I couldn’t get out, coming back, pausing to do the glasses thing, changing direction…When I eventually made my way out at the other side, I went up towards Hilly Fields, wanting to do a mini-recce ahead of tomorrow’s Parkrun meeting there. I must say, I am feeling a whole lot better today, far less achy and more energised than I have felt all week, even the nasty hill didn’t defeat me.

After my run I popped home to collect a drink/towel etc and headed over to the gym. Some time was spent stepping up an imaginary hill, lifting weights and suppressing that lip-curling thing that happens when you try and do something taxing to your body. I took my camera to capture just what the rain is doing to our river right now.

River Ravensbourne rushing by

We normally do stone-throwing from in front of this platform!

Distance: 3.29 miles

Time: 36 minutes 22 seconds

Average Pace: 11.03

Best Pace: 5.43

Calories: 399

20 minutes on the stepper and about an hour of weights.

Responses

  1. I was doing the ‘running down misleading paths and pretending that I knew what I was doing’ thing on Sunday in the park. By the end of it I had perfected a ‘casual jogging in a big circle as if that’s what I always intended to do’ thing.

    In our house, we always referred to this as “shoulder licking” in honour of our fat ginger moggy who used to do just that when he’d done something stupid and was pretending otherwise.

    • Oh, I laughed hard at the cat image, did he also forget to put his tongue away? I love it when they do that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

