Posted by: fitartist | March 22, 2013

Running Need

I find that running becomes all the more attractive when you can’t actually do it. This week I had planned to run five miles on Tuesday, but was woken in the night by a poorly boy and our Tuesday was spent snuggled up on the sofa, Hector under his duvet and me (on vomit-watch) under my growing blanket:

My growing yarny creation

My growing yarny creation

(I have been attempting to crochet for a long time now, and only got the hang of it when I went to a workshop. I would recommend it, it’s one of those things that you really do need to see in action. If nobody else appreciates this, I at least know that Travelling Hopefully will ;) )

By Wednesday Hector was back up and at ‘em (it’s amazing how small people bounce back as if nothing has happened) and I was able to tackle that run I had planned. I mentioned to Edward that I planned to run five miles and he said: ‘You could run 10k in about an hour, slacker!’ (that was all said in the nicest possible way, for anyone who doesn’t know him!), so there it was, I had a challenge. I dropped bouncy boy off at school and set off towards Blackheath. For some reason I thought it might be good to include a hill and anyone from the SE13 area will know that Lewisham Hill lives up to its name. Oh, how I gritted my teeth! It’s been a long time since I did this particular route and it felt good to open out onto the heath and saunter over to Greenwich Park with its gorgeous views. All the time I had a delightful selection of music in my ears, courtesy of my superb ‘Adele’s Big Four Doh!’ CD compilation from our lovely friends Bas, Mirjam and Aletta. All on the theme of running, or with a subtle mention of running, these songs really gave me a boost when I started to flag. Knowing that it’s been a very, very long time since I ran 10k, maybe over a year, I wasn’t going to be too hard on myself, and just enjoyed the run but, as I got nearer to home I started to glow a bit, feeling a buzz that you only get when you’ve hit that running goal.

It’s amazing how varied our ‘running careers’ can be. Not so long ago I was training hard for the Brighton Marathon, then the Royal Parks Half Marathon, then I haven’t raced for over year, preferring to run just for the pleasure of it and I now find myself stuck around the 5k mark. How happy was I to see these stats?

Distance: 6.23 miles

Time: 59 minutes 55 seconds

Average Pace: 9.37

Best Pace: 6.47

Calories: 756


Responses

  1. Haha! Great opening line! And so so true! Great run too, I`m dead jealous of your times as I can only manage 10 mpm nowadays.

    • Thanks Red Hen. The times will pick up, I’ve been focussing on getting faster over shorter distances for a while, but have lost some endurance in the process!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

