Posted by: fitartist | January 12, 2014

Race the Cake

There’s Race the Train, Race the Horse and now Race the Cake. I knew I wanted to get out and run this morning while Edward and Hector headed off for a swim. Edward was mixing up a marble cake as I left and asked if I would be in to take it out of the oven…er, no! ‘It takes an hour’ he said ‘Ok, I’ll be back in an hour’ I replied.

I legged it off down the Waterlink Way. I wanted to go slightly further than my other runs this week, so had 10k in mind – just within the cake removal time-slot. The sun shone, the earth was frosty and I saw runners at every turn. First of all I was greeted by friendly ‘Hello’s from running club friends, then I stopped for a chat with a group of Parkrun friends who were having a sociable run together. After a brief ‘how should we keep our shoes clean after a muddy Hilly Fields run?’ pause, I went on my way. Yesterday I ran Hilly Fields for a change. It was tough. It was muddy (see new image at the top of this page). I pushed myself hard, I skidded around, trying not to fall, I struggled up the steep hill, my feet failing to get a grip, and I pushed myself and others on to the finish. According to my watch I had a (Hilly Fields) PB, but my official time shows a second slower :( I might just run again next week and see if I can crack it.

Even with this heavy run in my legs I still managed to fly this morning, I hadn’t expected much, just a slow run, but I felt good, strong and flew along the path with ease. It feels great when a run gives you that buzz. As I reached home, I expected to be greeted by the smell of baking, but found a note saying: ‘I didn’t want to leave the oven on, can you put the cake in?’ One of the many reasons I have to run:

Marble

Marble

So, this was my fifth run this week – one more than I ‘pledged’ to complete on the Jantastic website. I also managed two swims, but no ride. I think I need to get out and go, see how far I get, see if my legs like the sensation of spin, spin, spin…

Distance: 6.23 miles
Time: 56.18 minutes
Average Pace: 9.02 minute miles
Calories: 626

Responses

  1. That looks like an excellent reason to run! Well done on all your activity this week – it sounds like you’ve got a brilliant spring in your step.

  2. great pace! and a very nice looking cake :)

  3. Maybe this is the way forward. Put a cake in the oven before running. I bet I’d fly like the wind if I knew I was running home for cake!!

  4. Yup, cake runs are definitely the way to go, though I had to wait a good few hours, staring at it, before I was allowed to tuck in (neighbour came round for afternoon tea). It was worth the wait :)

  5. If they had called it ‘race the cake’ instead of parkrun I’m sure they’d be intergalactically global by now. Where do I sign up?

    • Jez, we do have cake! Actually, lots of Parkruns involve cake…Orpington has cake made each week by the runners as there’s no cafe…Maybe I will make some next time I’m RD (though there are so many mouths to feed now…hmmm).

  6. I’m glad you didn’t leave the oven on with no one in. Safety first!

    • Cathy, I was happily throwing caution to the wind, it’s a good job there’s someone more sensible in the house…

  7. Race the cake! I love it!

  8. Ooo, “race the cake” — I need to try that here as a motivator :-) Great run! Keep it up! Are you on a team for Jantastic? I am, but don’t think you are on my team… but I don’t know your real name so maybe we are teammates?

    • I am part of the Hilly Fields Parkrun team as FitArtist :)

  9. Oooh that look delicious!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

