Posted by: fitartist | September 21, 2006

I ran outside!

Oh, I feel so happy! After much tentative running on the treadmill at the gym, gently easing my tender achilles back into action, I decided it was about bloody time I went outside…and I’m so glad I did! The other day I jokingly asked the question: ‘Why do I ever run outside?’ well, today’s run confirmed why.

It’s like a beautiful July day out there: hot sunshine, bright clear blue skies, birds singing, lush vegetation and amazing smells. Sitting at my desk this morning, I hadn’t realised just how hot it was, so didn’t bother with sun cream or shades – you don’t imagine needing them as you approach October. So, the running was good, I kept up a pretty good pace and the achilles felt ok (I wore thick, padded socks, which seem to help) and I had a wonderful time. It feels like ages since I was down by the canal – the last time I ran through the marshes the ground was black after it had caught fire, with smoke sitting on the surface. Amazingly this is all lush again, great to see how quickly it recovered.

Distance: 5.64 miles

Time: 57 minutes 28 seconds

Average Pace: 10.11

Best Pace: 6.14

Calories: 634

So, as easy and convenient as it is to hop on the treadmill after Spinning, I will make an effort to run outside again. It just makes me feel so much better about the world (I am sitting here positively beaming) and gives you a sense of place, a sense of the seasons changing…and that’s why I do it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

