Posted by: fitartist | March 29, 2007

Contract and release

Ah, lovely yoga day 🙂

We did some delicious new movements that involve twisting the hips and moving around the spine, doing a kind of contract and release sort of movement in the pelvis (sorry, I’m not describing that very well, but it’s hard!). I felt like I was in a Graham technique class all over again, and slightly yearned to do some of those amazing moves that I used to find so challenging. One thing that I really enjoyed about these movements was that I could feel my abs working – ‘they still work!’ I thought to myself. When your stomach is pushed outwards and rounded like a ball, you start to wonder if you will ever recover any strength in this area, so it was reassuring to engage the muscles and know that all is not lost!

I think I will have to do these ones at home as well.

Responses

  1. Can we get some pics? I’s like to see what those movements look like.

  2. waistloss – I’ll see what I can do!


Leave a Reply

Categories

