Posted by: fitartist | May 29, 2007

Sports (rainy) Day

(see photos here) 

Well, off we went to the Hackney Marshes for the Artists’ Sports Day. After the hot weather of the previous few days, I had been a bit anxious about getting too hot and had packed lots of water and suncream but, as Edward and I made our way along the canal, we realised it was a good job we had brought the brolley as well!

The event went really well, not as many people as I had imagined, but it was quite a hard spot to get to and people are definitely put off by a bit of cloud. Those who were there were very enthusiastic, and Ellie and I got lots of people signed up for our Sports Day Artists’ Dance-Off. Due to some overlapping of events, our Dance-Off was split into a few sections, which was good in some ways, because we got to see what else was going on. I don’t think standing outside in the cold, but dressed like it’s hot, is good for a 35-and-a-bit weeks pregnant lady, and I caused some alarm with my blue lips, thankfully someone had the foresight to bring a kettle and tea bags, which sort of did the trick.

As the afternoon went on, we enjoyed an ‘odd egg’ and spoon race, a stilletto sprint, a butoh 400m and some gymnastics with a difference. Unfortunately, before we held our final rounds of the Dance-Off, it started pouring down, so we had the final competitors dance under umbrellas! All in all, it was a lot of fun, but I did feel well and truly knackered by the time I got home, and I think it didn’t help that I had walked miles to get there in the first place! A nice hot bath was very welcome on my arrival home, thank you Edward.

On Sunday, I found some more energy to go for a swim! It wasn’t too busy, and I managed 30 lengths – I wasn’t pushing myself because things were aching, and I think my body is now well and truly being taken over by relaxin, so I need to take care not to injure myself. Regarding the pregnancy, I now only have four weeks to go but, realistically, that could mean two weeks or maybe even six weeks. I have been continuing with the gym ball kneeling and all-fours stretches and it’s paid off – when I saw my midwife this week, she said that Eric has turned into the optimal position! I’ve just got to keep him happy there now, so no slouching and lots of kneeling. Good lad.

Leave a Reply

Categories

