Posted by: fitartist | June 20, 2007

Thumb Twiddling

This is a strange and exciting time. Edward said last night that it feels like we are twiddling our thumbs, waiting for something to happen. When you have a set date to work towards, it’s so much easier: you cram everything in over a period of time, pacing yourself and timing things just right. Apparently only 5% of babies are born on their due date and 75% are late, so this thumb twiddling could go on for some time!

I’m incredibly excited about meeting our little guy, seeing what he looks like, feeling the body that has made lumps and bumps against my skin, touching the little elbow that currently sticks out near my belly button. I do have moments of nervousness though, wondering if I will cope with the pain, hoping that all is well, wondering if we’ll know what to do with him when he arrives, if it just comes naturally.

I have been keeping a book: ‘eric’s book’ which is full of text and images, telling him all about his journey. Something to pass on to him in the future. It’s interesting looking back and reading about how we felt when we knew he was coming, seeing how my bump has grown. It’s an amazing time.

Responses

  1. Like your site!! I take it that you live in the Tottenham area. Do you have any articles about what it is like living in the area? If so, I would like to read some.

    Nicki

  2. Hi Nicki

    What would you like to know about Tottenham life? I gather from your own blog that you may have lived here when you were growing up – I imagine it’s changed a lot since then! I’ve only been in this area just over a year, but still trying to settle in, it can be a bit overwhelming sometimes.

    Let me know what aspect of the area you are interested in…

    Adele

  3. Hi Adele,

    Perhaps you could write about what you find ‘overwhelming’; why you chose this area and how does it compare to where you lived before. Whenever I’m in ‘town’, my kids and I make use of Tottenham Leisure centre i.e, the library, the pool area. I’m looking forward to when the Bernie Grant Arts centre is completed. I know it’s easy to romanticise n area when you no longer live in it but I’m amazed that it’s refused to become gentrified, and holds no pretensions, or airs and graces but I hope you find lots there that is positive.

    Take care.

  4. Nicki

    I use the leaisure centre too (and the library), but often feel disappointed at how grubby it is…one of my ongoing moans on my blog! I’m really looking forward to the Arts Centre opening, it’s going to be very exciting for the area – I walked past earlier and glass has gone in, so I doubt it’s far off now.

    The ‘overwhelming’ thing is to do with the atmosphere in certain areas sometimes, it can feel a little threatening – I saw a police sign just now, asking for witnesses to an attack on a woman…which took place at 10.30 am. So, I guess I’m just aware that it’s not the safest of areas. It is changing though, very slowly, and it does take time to settle in to a new area and to make local friends.

    You might like to look at this Flickr Group:

    http://www.flickr.com/groups/sunnytottenham/

  5. I agree. Police sirens and signs unfortunately has become part of the landscape. You just have to be careful. The photos are great especially the one with the mural on the block of B/farm. It’s brilliant! Thanks for sending them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

