Posted by: fitartist | May 19, 2008

Two wheels good

Last weekend we set off to get a child- seat fitted to my bike, with the intention of going straight out for a ride. Unfortunately they needed to order a part for my bike before they could fit it, so I was unable to collect it until Wednesday. Wednesday came and Hector and I went off to pick up our new mode of transport. Once we’d waited around a bit and been shown how to take the seat off and so on, I put Hector in and realised just how wobbly the extra weight made the bike: even just pushing him along I felt nervous, worried that we would tip over, so I didn’t ride home, just pushed very carefully. When we got home Edward encouraged me to have a go on our street and I found that my own weight gave a bit more stability to the whole thing…but the getting on and off,  maneuvering through narrow bits, going round corners all still felt a bit unstable.

Well, yesterday we set out early and went on a proper trip along the canal. We went through a couple of parks first of all then along a strip of main road and into my lovely marshes and canal; it felt good to be cruising through the cow parsley and wildflowers again, the smell is delicious. It has been a long time since I rode my bike at all, never mind with an extra passenger shouting from the rear, so I shouldn’t be too tough on myself. I think I need to get out regularly to feel more confident (and to get our money’s worth!). The canal ride was great, lots to see: birds, rowers, houseboats, dogs. Often, on my long runs along this stretch, I would cast a glance over to the little cafe next to the rowing club and daydream about a bacon butty and now my wishes came true: a big mug of tea and a bacon and egg butty. Great!

I must say, I feel a bit saddle sore today and I was really feeling it in my quads as we rode yesterday – I don’t ache after running, even after the big break I had, but cycling works a whole other set of muscles (I think we did about ten miles). My passenger probably adds to the energy expended and he was a delight to ride along with, shouting, pointing, chattering to himself and, right at the end, I looked back and saw his head had fallen forward and he was snoring away!

By the way, I felt I should buy him a helmet, even though he is quite well protected by the seat itself, but the smallest one I could find was still quite big, as you can see! As it’s so deep around the brim, it makes his head tilt forward and I wonder if there is a less bulky child’s helmet out there, more of a skull-cap style…

Responses

  1. Hi,

    Looks very cute even with a big helmet!

    I wish you lots of happy rides!

    Gaelle

  2. Hey Gaelle!

    Yeah, he was holding the helmet up at one point! Are you getting out on the bikes with the little ones?

    A x

  3. 🙂 how does the bike handle? – i was always fretting about our small one on the back…then clipped her chin in the helmet strap :-/ that was 5 years ago, but she will never forfive me…

  4. Joggerblogger – the bike feels wobbly until you get going, and on tight turns and narrow bits I feel decidedly unsteady! I guess I’ll have to practice and get used to it, I’m not the boldest cyclist anyway, not great in London!


Leave a Reply

Categories

