Posted by: fitartist | June 5, 2008

The long way home

Yesterday was a walking day. This wasn’t what I had intended but that’s how it ended up. I locked us out of the house. We went swimming in the morning and Hector did his incredibly confident rubber ring lengths whilst I squatted nearby to help him if he needed it. After lunch I decided to pop to the shops to try and find a top to wear for the wedding we’re going to on Saturday. I put Hector in our new sling and off we went in the sunshine – yay! We walked through the park and enjoyed some creatures along the way. After traipsing around the shops getting hotter and grumpier, I decided we should go home and chill out for a bit. By this point Hector was hungry and tired and was getting more and more impatient as I tried to find the house keys…but they were not in my bag. I tipped it out three times but for some reason this didn’t make them magically appear. Oh, what awful timing: Edward was off at his new job all the way over in Chelsea and wasn’t going to be back until very late and our friends who have our spare set are in Cornwall – aaarrrghghg!

After doing some texting and ringing to try and work out a plan of action, I sat down on the recycling bin to feed Hector; it’s surprisingly comfy. Anyway, no responses were forthcoming and Hector was getting bored of wandering around our tiny front garden, so we headed back to the park. Eventually Edward rang back and we decided that we would go and meet him part way and collect his keys. This was one of those moments where you have to take a deep breath and muster up enough energy to cope with the next leg!

It was lovely to see him, all bright and breezy in his high-vis jacket and cycling gear, and he persuaded me to pause and have a cool milkshake before heading back home. The homeward journey was pretty stressful with a very tired and upset baby crying most of the way 😦 Obviously I didn’t have my Garmin on for the trek, but I just traced the journey on G-Map and it came out as six miles!

Today I decided to get out early and make the most of this gorgeous weather before it gets too hot, so we were out before nine. I thought it might be interesting to muddle things up a bit and go a different way, so we started off with our usual two parks, then headed out towards Green Lanes – we were dropping off a birthday present for Hector’s very good friend Max, who is now one. From here we negotiated the bumpy, uneven and busy pavements until we reached the lovely new Chestnuts playground. This has just been opened and had that weird spongy flooring and lots of great climbing frames and swing things (unfortunately none of these swings are really suitable for a baby, so we did the ‘baby on mummy’s knee’ swing). As the ground was so forgiving, I decided to encourage Hector to take a few more steps unaided and he really went for it – he did 30 steps all on his own! I do wish he’d slow down though, and think about it, I suppose he sees me running everywhere though…

The park was interesting: there was a large group of Muslim women and their children, the women wearing full veils and long black, flowing outfits. At one point all the women were piled on top of a see-saw thing, going up and down and laughing their heads off – I said it would make a great picture and one of them said ‘What if our husbands saw it on You Tube?!’. Two women were also swinging really high and squealing with delight, a funny sight with their clothes flapping about in the wind and their faces obscured! This run was quite sociable as we bumped into two fellow mums and babies – I feel a bit odd when I see other mums when I’m running, they give me a funny look, but then ask about the buggy and seem to be impressed/supportive.

So, once Hector had had enough fun and challenges, we headed back home for him to have a well-earned nap (and for me to grab a cup of tea;)

Number of Juneathons: 5/5

Total miles: 18.21

(I let Edward use my Garmin yesterday to record his first cycling commute to his new job – 24 miles!! This does mean it was allowed to run down though, so it died on me after about a mile. I traced today’s run and it came out at about 3.84 miles)

Responses

  1. I just love the picture of the muslim women in the playground – like the Leaping Nuns of St Beryl


Leave a Reply

Categories

