Posted by: fitartist | January 19, 2009

Tentative steps

I decided to take it easy on my tender shins and not push myself into injury so soon in my training for the Big One. My run on Saturday was supposed to be three miles, but I decided not to run at all and gave my legs a good rub with Neal’s Yard Muscle Salve (if Neal’s Yard want to send me a bumper jar, they are more than welcome 🙂 ) and save myself for my long Sunday run.

I was quite nervous setting out, worrying that things might hurt and that I’d have to stop, but I had taken the precaution of wearing some old shoes to have a softer landing. I’m surprised at these new shoes: I’ve always just worn my running shoes straight from the box and never bothered to wear them in, but these are really hard and seem to need a bit more mileage before I will be able to really go for it in them. Today’s run was a seven-miler, so I headed to the marshes and made sure I kept to the grass verge as much as possible. Well, what a delight that was…leaping left and right, up and down in an attempt to avoid skidding on all the piles of dog shit that owners seem to think it’s ok to leave there. Disgusting.

It was quiet – I guess it was early for a Sunday morning – and after last week’s friendly faces, some of the people I encountered needed some charm-improvement lessons. I was reassured though by some bike riders who shouted a friendly ‘approaching from behind!’ and a few ‘hello’s before overtaking me, unusual along this stretch. One runner passed me in the opposite direction, then later on gasped up behind me and overtook: ‘I’ve not run for months, this is tough!’ he panted. Silly thing was sprinting along and had to stop after a bit to catch his breath.

After a truly blustery and rain-drenched night, the paths were pretty wet, with huge puddles to clear and muddy bogs to tentatively negotiate, but now the sun had started to shine and the water was sparkling so I decided to carry on until I reached the rowing club then head back home. Home was welcoming, with a hot bath and a (cold) hot cross bun to refuel after my seven and a half miles.

Time: 1 hour 19 minutes 38 seconds

Distance: 7.50 miles

Average Pace: 10.37

Best Pace: 7.37

Calories: 843

Responses

  1. That sounds like a good confidence building run.

    It is interesting how we all like different things after a run. I find hot baths make me feel very dozey so my preference is a tepid shower.


Leave a Reply

Categories

