Posted by: fitartist | June 2, 2009

A digger waved at us!

One of the biggest challenges for Juneathon is getting Hector dressed and out of the door. He is going through a running-away-and-not-wanting-to-wear-any-clothes stage, which means lots of running up and down the hall with him screaming with laughter and me pulling my hair out! We got there in the end though…

runner

Today’s run was a ‘water-digger’ run along the canal. It’s absolutely scorchio out there today, I love it! On our way to the canal we paused at Tottenham Hale to watch the cranes, diggers and dumpers and this digger actually swerved round and ‘waved’ its scooper at us! It was rather special.

digger

Unfortunately there were no water diggers along the stretch of canal we ran, I think they must have moved further down, this calls for a longer run then. So we headed to the playground and enjoyed some climbing, see-sawing, sliding and round-abouting (does all this count in Juneathon?). During our playground stop my Garmin packed up – I’d let the battery run down – so my stats are approximate. I just doubled what I did in the first half, as that’s what I would have run anyway. It’s charging up right now.

Now to the other bit of my Juneathoning. Sit-ups, let’s see…55! And 15 press-ups πŸ™‚ This morning I said to Edward ‘How many sit-ups can you do in one go?’ he looked horrified and said, in a high-pitched voice, ‘What are you doing?!’ I don’t think he’ll be joining me in this particular challenge.

Juneathon Day 2

Sit-ups: 55

Press-ups: 15

Run

Time: 47 minutes

Distance: 4.36 miles

Average Pace: 10.46

Best Pace: 7.42

Calories: 480

Responses

  1. As I can only manage about 1 sit up in a row (is that grammatically correct? Can you do one thing in a row?!), I think I too will just stick to the running!

  2. Waving diggers -wonderful. Next they will have to be choreographed

  3. Great miles πŸ˜€ I think I need one of them pushchairs and the small person can push me around.

  4. Emma – one sit up is hardly a row! But your running is good, so why bother torturing yourself?

    HK – I know, not sure who was more delighted: Hector or me! It was just lovely, the driver obviously enjoyed the attention.

    JB – There have been many times when I’ve wanted to swap places, I could see me and th ebuggy ending up in the canal though…

  5. Good run πŸ™‚ and a wave from a digger the best i get is a Baaaaaaa from the odd Sheep.


Leave a Reply

Categories

