Posted by: fitartist | June 5, 2009

Cut short

I should have just procrastinated less and got out earlier but, as it was I ummed and ahhed, looked out of the window, wondered if it was going to rain and when we eventually got outside I ran a bit and it started to rain. For those that think I am some kind of fair weather wuss, I must point out that I run with a running buggy but we don’t have a rain cover so, although I don’t care if I get wet or not, it’s a bit unfair to subject the little co-runner to a downpouring. To make up for the lack of run and for yesterday’s lack of a sit-ups/press-ups combo, I have really gone for it down on the floor. I feel slightly light-headed.

Juneathon Day 5

Sit-ups: 3 sets of 50, 150 in total

Press-ups: 3 sets of 10, 30 in total

Run

Time: 19 minutes 20 seconds

Distance: 1.75 miles

Average Pace: 11.03

Best Pace: 8.35

Calories: 179

My contribution to Highway Kind’s yoga challenge was to get myself into the Cobra position after all those sit-ups, felt nice it did too.

I found it hard to get to sleep last night after the crisis that was the Square Mile Run. The odd distance had really thrown me, and made me think I need to enter a real 5k race to test myself, try and work towards a faster pace. I also remembered an overheard conversation: ‘I’m sursprised how quicky he left us – blah – blah – blah – well, he was wearing casual shorts’. Poor man. They would have been horrified by the man I kept trying to lose in the last mile (or was it two miles, or three?) who was most definitely wearing ‘casual shorts’ and white fashion pumps! He was doing my head in because he had this really heavy, laboured footfall obviously drowned out to him as he had headphones on, but draining for any fellow runners. Oh, and a man running in jeans…It seems I wasn’t the only one to be thrown by the dodgy distance measuring. Cathy has written up her race report here, and it came in at over four miles. That would explain my time, which was more like a 4-miler than anything less. Hmmmmmm.

Responses

  1. I’ve wanted since I started running to do a proper 5k (i.e. a properly measured fast one, not a Race for Life) but never found one locally.

  2. There’s always the Serpentine Last Friday 5ks. I’ve done it once and it was definitely a 5k and very well organised…and cheap too. Just looked this one up on RW website: http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/events/viewevent.asp?sp=&v=2&EN=43408

  3. They’re at lunchtime though. A Central London one on a Saturday at a reasonable hour would be good.

  4. Well, we were in Pizza Express and I half expected you to come in. We didn’t get home til 10, so a very late night for Hector. Shame we didn’t meet up, I guess we just passed each other at some point too.

  5. What a wierd race. I think you have to classify it as an experience rather a race and it sounds like an interesting experience.

    If you want something better regulated there is always the weekly Bushy Park 5k time trial. The only downside is that you have to get there for 09.00 on Saturday mornings – but they are free.

    I quite like the cobra as well. The problems I have are with all the leg stretches

  6. Nice work 🙂 sometimes I mess about for ages before getting out the door.

  7. Joggerblogger – the more you mess about the less likely you are to get out there! It’s like you are talking yourself out of it. I have double the faff getting the little one organised as well…

    HK – I’d love to do the Bushy Park but it would take me about two hours to get there (really!) so probably not a great option. I think I’ve decided to give the Trent Park 5k a go in a few weeks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

