Posted by: fitartist | June 24, 2009

Keep up! Keep up!

I don’t feel like I’m keeping up, not with the running, but with the blogging of the runs. So, I have a few bits and bobs to add to the Juneathon mix.

Monday was a muddle of a day, only managed a little one because the little one was not in the mood to be rushed about in a running buggy and we had to wait in for the arrival (and then quick hiding of) a certain birthday present.

8-full-likeabike_018

It was one of those running errands/popping to the post office sort of runs. Tried to make up for it with some quality pressing and sitting. Up, that is.

Juneathon Day 22

Sit-ups: 75

Press-ups: 25

Yogi-press-ups: 6

Run

Time: 19 minutes 20 seconds

Distance: 1.75 miles

Average Pace: 11.03

Best Pace: 8.35

Calories: 179

Yesterday was hot, hot, hot, so I decided to leave it until a bit later in the day and wanted to combine the run with a trip to the paddling pool. Now Hector and I have been to this particular park many times, but normally much earlier on and we often have the playground to ourselves so it was a bit of a shock to be there around school kicking out time and be surrounded by screaming kids, chavs and ice-cream wielding toddlers, high on sugar. Hector just looked around for a while, trying to take it all in, then I quickly put on his swim suit and kicked off my hot running shoes. It was delicious to dip my toes in the cold water but Hector wasn’t so sure and pulled his legs right up as I tried to put him in! He played for a while around the edge, pouring water from his watering can and eventually acclimatised and asked to go in properly. I spent a lot of the time feeling disgusted at the pissy smell around the paddling pool and feeling sad at the children playing with empty crisp packets and corner shop bags in the pool, but H seemed happy enough. After a bit more of this oddity we headed home…once I’d cleaned a big purple bird poo off the running buggy, those birds are rather colourful in their excretions at the moment!

Juneathon Day 23

Sit-ups: 70

Press-ups: 20

Yogi-press-ups: 5

Run

Time: 22 minutes 16 seconds

Distance: 2.06 miles

Average Pace: 10.48

Best Pace: 8.01

Calories: 222

Responses

  1. What a cool bike! Almost as nice as mine…

  2. Ah, those little bikes are great. They are supposed to really help teach the child to balance. I wasn’t allowed to get one for my eldest so got round it by me removing the stabilisers and pedals from his normal bike so he could just scoot it along.

  3. I like the dinky bike, is it one of the Islabikes ones?

  4. Well done with your continued activity, I often have days where there is simply no time to blog or read blogs!

  5. Jogblog – Almost as nice…but not pink. I wish they did these in adult sizes.

    Eatingtrees – Ingenious! Yes, they are supposed to help them go pretty much straight to a pedal bike without much fuss. When you’ve seen these in action, stabiliser/pedal combos look so clunky and weighty. I’m so excited about him seeing it on Monday!

    JamesK – It’s a ‘Likeabike’. I know the Islabikes, our friends’ little boy has one. We were seduced by the wooden beauty of this one though…

    Eva – I know, it’s been a real challenge, not feeling quite as fired up as I was at the beginning of the month!


Leave a Reply

Categories

