Posted by: fitartist | June 30, 2009

Running like a girl

Juneathon Days 26, 27 and 28 and 29

I am just emerging from a glorious weekend spent celebrating Hector’s second birthday. Friday was spent getting ready: preparing food, getting Hector’s hair cut, keeping him out of the way while Edward tried to get his birthday cake made, painting a big sheet of paper to make bunting, enjoying the sunshine, a chat with our neighbour over the fence about all the delicious smells wafting over (in both directions) and a little run to Tesco to pick up some forgotten ingredients. I have been keeping up with Juneathon, but certainly not with the blogging.

painting

Juneathon Day 26

Run

Time: 14 minutes 23 seconds

Distance:  1.36 miles

Average Pace: 10.34

Calories: 135

And onto Saturday. Party time! Another morning spent getting everything ready: putting up the bunting, blowing up balloons, making salads, tidying the house then having a jolly old time entertaining friends at Hector’s party.

garden

It was just lovely. We had fantastic weather (a bit too hot for some), delightful children being very well behaved enjoying the sandpit and playing  nicely with Hector’s toys and some delicious food. To be honest, I think Hector found it all a bit overwhelming and even started crying when we sang ‘Happy Birthday’ to him, so much to take in all in one go.

cake

By the evening the weather had changed dramatically and we were treated to an almighty thunder storm – a few die-hard partiers stayed put in the garden, but we eventually decided we were indeed getting wet and came inside. Once everyone had gone we were exhausted and felt glad to only have Ben and Jackie to entertain and settled down to a dinner of left-overs and wine (mmmmmmmm). At about ten o’clock I jumped out of my seat and said: ‘I haven’t been running!’ At this point Edward said I had to go, but I was all set not to bother, I had been drinking and was well and truly knackered, it would be stupid to go out like that. But the others wouldn’t let me off, I was cajoled (bullied) into pulling on my running shoes to do a quick round the block…in my skirt and pearls…and in the rain. I felt so daft legging it up the road in my lady-attire, so much so that I took on some sort of girly demeanour, running daintily along as if merely dodging the rainstorm. I only had to endure this for a few minutes and was glad to get back inside away from my embarrassment. I didn’t bother with the Garmin for this one, it would have taken longer to get a signal than it took to actually run! Now this counts for Juneathon, surely, but it wouldn’t keep me in the ‘running streak’ community as you have to run at least one mile every day, and this was nowhere near that. Oh well, I managed 26 running streak days, not bad.

runnergirl

Juneathon Day 27

Run

Around the block in a skirt and pearls. Quick but worthwhile.

Sunday was spent with the lovely Ben and Jackie, going to the Hackney City Farm, wandering around Whitechapel Art Gallery and eating yet more food. I did squeeze in a little run in the evening but still felt the incredible heat was slowing me down to a crawl.

Juneathon Day 28

Run

Time: 19 minutes 34 seconds

Distance:  2.24 miles

Average Pace: 8.45

Best Pace: 5.21

Calories: 224

Monday – the big day! We were up early, excited about the little man’s big birthday. We had put his new bike in the living room so he would walk in and find it there. ‘What’s that?!’ he asked ‘A bike! A bike!’. He was a bit wobbly at first but had got the hang of it within the hour and was even trying a brief free-wheel! These bikes are amazing: they have no pedals and encourage the child to find their own balance and work  out how to combine steering and balancing at the same time, once a child has got the hang of this they can adapt to a pedal bike no problem and without the need for stabilisers. Oh, and it looks really cool too!

bikeboy

We had some more present and card opening then cycled over to Clissold Leisure Centre for a swim. The toddler pool there is great – the water level is just right for H to climb in and out himself, with the odd unexpected jump from standing to keep me on my toes. Lunch was eaten in the park then another cycle home. In the evening I lay with Hector as he went to sleep, at about the time he was born in just the same spot two years earlier. He was such a tiny, fragile little thing, and look at him now! Again, my run didn’t happen until the evening, once he was asleep, just another quickie to keep the Juneathon alive.

picnic

Juneathon Day 29

Run

Time: 19 minutes 51 seconds

Distance:  2.29 miles

Average Pace: 8.41

Best Pace: 8.37

Calories: 205

Astute readers might have noticed that I haven’t been logging any press-ups and sit-ups, that’s because I haven’t been doing them. Shame on me. I just haven’t had time. I would like to incorporate them into my regular training ‘programme’ but have let them slip by the wayside in the past week. I really can’t see myself doing the prescribed 200 sit-ups and 100 press-ups by the end of today!

Please excuse the lack of stats in this post, my Garmin is being a complete bastard and not allowing me to read the totals for each run, I just have some odd laps and can’t for the life of me work out what’s what. I will try and get it sorted and update later. Damn it. EVENING UPDATE – SEE STATS ABOVE


Responses

  1. A digger cake – how wonderful.

    Glad you had a good weekend and congratulations on your running streak – very impressive

  2. Looks like he had a great party, I echo HK well done on all your hard work this month.x

  3. […] not only did she run every day, she fitted it in around looking after two year old Hector and even left her own party at 10pm to run round the block dressed up in her dress and pearls. How cool is […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

