Posted by: fitartist | August 16, 2009

DOMS

Ouch! On Friday evening I went to my first Boxing Circuits class in about, ooh, five years. It was as if I had never been away 🙂 I was a bit apprehensive, knowing that I am fit but not that sort of fit and I didn’t imagine that I had an ounce of upper body strength left in me, but it seems all this picking up and putting down of a two-stone+ little boy is doing me some good! First of all I had to run the gauntlet of slimy gits on the way to the leisure centre. Do Nike do a T-shirt that says: ‘Hey! Just do it! Say something rude to me or just lick your lips as I walk past!’? No, I thought not, but I am pretty sure that’s what people were imagining was printed on my top. One bloke called out: ‘You can wrestle me any time love!’ this left me bemused, what do they imagine will happen when they shout out these things? That I will stop and ask them out on a date?

I got there a little bit early so had to do the chatting with other people thing, which was quite nice actually, and it seems most people were there for the first time, so I wasn’t alone in my newness. We were in a big sports hall, so I had visions of being made to run up and down and round and round…which was exactly what we did once the teacher had arrived. Before I left the house Edward said: ‘Take it easy, you’ve not done it for a long time’ but of course, once I was let loose in the gym I went for it big time. Up and down, round and round, press-ups here, burpees there (they are a killer). I was loving it! It was a good mix of people and levels of fitness, but I didn’t really notice what anyone else was doing, I was so focused on getting it done. I certainly haven’t lost my punch and really let out my pent up aggression when it came to partnering up and using gloves and pads. Poor bloke wasn’t expecting that. The – wonderful – class I used to go to had a lot of encouragement involved and you would hear shouts of ‘Come on! You can do it! Keep going!’ and so on, but everyone was quiet here so I felt a bit self-conscious when I enthusiastically yelled out: ‘Goawwwn!’ That chap will be avoiding me next time, I’m sure.

It was a very well-structured class, with a good balance of activities but I was conscious all the time that I needed to get back to put Hector to bed, so thought I would run home. A-ha-ha-ha! I ran as far as the car park then slowed to a gentle saunter when I realised my legs were not my own. Poor Hector was a bit upset by the time I got home, wondering where on earth I had disappeared to (he was with Edward, by the way, not home alone with a tin of beans).

Oh yes, and I had been for a run in the morning too, just for good measure.

Time: 34 minutes 25 seconds

Distance: 3.09 miles

Average Pace: 11.08

Best Pace: 8.24

Calories: 310

I didn’t really ache yesterday so was feeling quite pleased with myself but, of course, DOMS really only kicks in after two days, so my long run was cut short due to agony this morning. I don’t think I will go to Fridays’ class because I can’t see myself completing next Sunday’s half-marathon with legs as heavy as this. Now, after our run on Friday, along the canal, I noticed this article and began to feel a bit uncertain and unhappy about running along that stretch, but I have since put it in perspective. They are targeting men on bikes, trying to get the bikes off them, and mostly operating in the evening. The police are having more presence in the area (though I haven’t noticed any around, they must be very plain-clothed) so it should be safer in a way. It just feels sad and disappointing that an area that we love so much and have always felt safe in is being populated by scum like this. Let’s hope they catch them soon.

I threw caution to the wind and ran down the canal this morning, turning towards the rowing club where there are usually lots of people on a Sunday morning. I felt half-dead as soon as I set off, so it was a real struggle to get round. I had hoped to run nine miles, but it wasn’t to be, I don’t want to push it and injure myself before next week, so I cut it short at six and a bit. I did go down to where the cows should be, but they are still not there. Here I got stopped by some chavvy kids who asked me if there was a party down there (!). I had heard some loud music towards the Walthamstow end, so pointed them in that direction where they slowly headed, having a very loud row along the way. Odd at about 9am on a Sunday morning.

Time: 1 hour 6 minutes 23 seconds

Distance: 6.51 miles

Average Pace: 10.12

Best Pace: 7.56

Calories: 687

I am currently trying to work out which timing device is going to be best for my Finland project, where I will need to be able to keep track of distance and time when I go inside as well as outside. I’m on a tight budget as well. I noticed the Nike+ Sportsband and wondered if anyone has experience of using it and could let me know if it seems like the right thing for what I’m doing. Or has anyone else used something like a Garmin with footpod that is reliable and fits the bill? Thanks!

Responses

  1. Good luck with the half mara, my feet are killing me, legs are fine but feet not!

    I’m not sure about timing devices, the Nike + looks easy to use but I don’t know enough about the techcie bits to give you any useful – sorry any information at all!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

