Posted by: fitartist | December 1, 2009

Hung-over-husband

Hmmmm. I have been really enjoying my weekly 5k challenge at the Finsbury Parkrun, but it wasn’t to be this weekend as the big fella had had a little too much to drink on Friday night and was certainly not up to entertaining a lively toddler while I pootled around the park. Grrrrr. I did go out though, and did a 5k around my local park, cheerfully shouting a jolly ‘hello’ to all the bundled up runners I passed along the way, but did any of them reply? No, not a sausage, grumpy lot. I pushed myself, imagining I might be able to manage a little PB, with it not including that big hill and all. I did manage to improve on last week’s time a little.

Time: 27 minutes 22 seconds

Distance: 5 km

Average Pace: 5.28

Calories: 308

On Sunday I wanted to do five miles to bring me up to my week’s target of 20 miles, but the rain kept saying: ‘No, stay there! It’s nice and warm…and dry’. I did get over myself though, and headed out into the winter wonderland. I’m so glad I did. I ran down to the canal and the sun was glorious, with rain cutting through it. All along the path I had to leap from side to side, avoiding the huge muddy puddles as I watched determined rowers ease through the water.

Time: 49 minutes

Distance: 8.10 km

Average Pace: 6.03

Calories: 500

When I got home Edward said he wanted to go out for a run too. I was a bit shocked because it must be about a year since he last ran – he cycles to work and back every weekday and plays football once a week, but never runs. Of course, he went out and beat my 5k time to a pulp. Damn it.

 

Responses

  1. I hate it when they do that…re:last bit. But I do like to think that they’re not having the same “experience” as we do- that they don’t see the tiny things, the contrasts and colors. If they do then I’m really really bitter. I’d rather not know for sure.

  2. Oh dear. That happened to a friend of mine. She runs occasionally (not as much as she used to) and her boyfriend never runs (although does cycle to work, same as your hubby) and they went out for a 25 minute run. She didn’t manage to do it all without stopping while he had no problem at all. She was furious. As would I be!

  3. It’s just not right is it? Running is ‘my’ thing! He is a whole foot taller than me and is simply a very natural runner, if he committed to it, he could be really good.

  4. I’m glad that’s not just me! Even when I’m on my (still rubbish) top form, mine can just pull on his trainers and scamper off into the distance. Actually he doesn’t scamper off, I try to keep up and then we fall out cos I’m knackered.

  5. Happy Christmas Adele.

    I now look forward to hearing about all the successes of 2010


Leave a Reply

Categories

