Posted by: fitartist | January 21, 2010

On the road to nowhere

I am realising (eventually) that it’s all very well printing off a training plan and saying ‘I will run – this – many times a week’ but in reality a week can very easily be written off by this and that. Last week was one such week. Poor Hector had a case of ‘Hand, foot and mouth disease’, which sounds dreadful, but is basically sore spots on the hands, feet and – in his case – on his tongue. He couldn’t eat and even screamed whilst trying to drink. Not much of a happy week. What made it worse was the fact that it’s very contagious amongst children, so we couldn’t mix, a week spent entertaining ourselves at home.

What a joy it was to get out on Saturday for the Finsbury Parkrun. I jumped on my bike and pedalled as fast as I could over to the park and was greeted by a mass of hi-vis hugging the cafe wall. I thought maybe these people were British Military Fitness types (some of whom I have spied scoffing chips in the cafe at 10.30 in the morning, after their session ;)), but all these eager folks were indeed Parkrunners, all 60-odd of them! Luckily the race started slightly late, so I had time to lock up my bike and get in place. I had a nice chat with a chap who was running, but is also a marshall, then off we went.

It was raining. A far cry from last week’s delightfully snowy scene. I could have premiered my lovely new Montaine Marathon jacket that packs down to the size of an apple. I ran very slowly again.

Time: 30 minutes

Distance: 3.08 miles

Average Pace: 9.45

Best Pace: 6.24

Calories: 334

(I’ve swapped back to miles, I just don’t feel happy with KMs).

On Sunday I did my – now regular – Spinning session and sweated a little pool all over the floor. Excellent. On Monday I rather foolishly went to a circuits session after eating a mountain of pasta. It just worked out that way: Hector had fallen asleep, Edward had some work to do, the class was starting in fifteen minutes and I need to reduce these muffin tops that are oozing over my waistband. It was tough, really tough. At one point we were sitting with our backs to the wall doing a squat and the teacher went along the line and sat on our knees, how evil is that?! I had imagined not being able to walk or lift my arms afterwards, but I was absolutely fine, a good sign I guess. So, tonight I will see what happens: will Edward get home in time, will Hector go to sleep in time, will I feel like going outside or would I rather stay here on the cosy warmth of the sofa?

Responses

  1. I have never completely followed a schedule that I have started yet. It always seems to temp fate if I start one and I get injured- however that said I am doing one at the moment!

    I generally always set my garmin to read miles it must be my age!

  2. I run Brighton Parkrun but hope to do Finsbury Park this week as taking my son up to the Parliament Hill x-country event. Interested to see how it compares to Brighton. Never used Garmin – worried I might get totally hooked on the stats but it sounds fun. Have you seen the age graded graph you can get from a link on the results email that’s sent out.

  3. Paul – I thought setting the Garmin to km would help me when doing 5 and 10ks but I feel so much happier to look down and see how many miles I’ve clocked, seems more substantial!

    Funda – Is Brighton a flat course? Finsbury Park has a hill…twice 🙂 I don’t really get the age graded thingy, I just like to look at my own stats against my PB and so on. Garmins are ace, go for it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

