Posted by: fitartist | February 8, 2010

Remember me

?

I opened my WordPress page and it asked me to sign in with that little ‘Remember me’ box underneath. Maybe it should read: ‘Remember me?’, it’s been a while. I have run since my last post, but only a couple of times and one of those was on the treadmill, which I always feel counts less than the open road for some reason (possibly because I simply don’t go as far on that thing because I might just fall off from the boredom). I have been hitting the gym classes though, whizzing nowhere on a Spinning bike and getting bum-ache at circuits, but last week Igot yet another bloody cold which includes a killer sore throat and a nasty chesty cough. I’M FED UP OF HAVING A COUGH NOW!

I did make it to the Parkrun last week, but maybe I should have stayed at home where I was safe and warm because I found myself on my back with my bike in the air on my way there. It was that day when there was a little sprinkling of snow which looked nice and everything but was actually covering all the patches of black ice everywhere. Fortunately I was in the park when the flying-through-the-air-with-the-greatest-of-ease incident occurred and, of course, the only person I could see around happened to be walking right next to the icy path, so there was no way I could pretend it hadn’t just happened. I wasn’t hurt, but I did gather an impressive cluster of bruises on my leg when my bike fell against me as I locked it up – see, I should have stayed at home! I then went on to run very carefully and slowly, getting another unimpressive time for 5k. Oh, the running just isn’t happening at the moment, I don’t know what’s wrong with me, this time last year I would have been really clocking up the miles, but right now I don’t think I can even call myself a runner.

Something I am enjoying very much right now is knitting, yes you read it correctly, knitting! I am fed up of wearing the same old clothes so I thought I’d have a go at making things myself. My Mum is a super knitter and taught me when I was little, but I had to learn casting on and off from some lovely instructions online, and have been quizzing my brother about some of the finer details of knitting (he’s an expert too). I have a long, long way to go before I can make anything big and complicated, but I am finding it totally fascinating, satisfying and addictive. Here is my first attempt at anything, a little scarf to keep my sore throat warm:

I am now knitting a bigger one for Edward and Hector says he wants one too. I am going to move on to a simple hat and then branch out a bit into an I-Phone cover. I even dream about knitting.

Responses

  1. Yay for running and knitting! That’s a gorgeous scarf – I’m loving the toggle, very Paddington Bear.

  2. I forgot you are knitty too! It’s just marvellous isn’t it? Of course, you are way ahead of me in the skills department, but I’m having a good go. Currently trying an I-Phone cover for Edward, then I will move on to a hat. I’ll take some photos for Flickr when I get a minute.

    Click-click.

  3. Just came across your blog through sorelimbs.co.uk… very interesting – you’re a great storyteller! Hope you don’t mind if I drop in every once in a while, I just started a running blog of my own and it keeps me interested to read others…
    Best of luck with your 2010 running.
    Breandán

  4. Hello Breandán, no problem, pop in any time!


Leave a Reply

Categories

