Posted by: fitartist | June 2, 2010

You are puffed out Mummy!

So said Hector as I huffed and puffed my way up to Alexandra Palace, ‘You are running slowly’.

In contrast to yesterday, the weather is absolutely scorching, so we decided to get out and make the most of it. Edward suggested we go up to Ally Pally and, of course, Hector wanted to go to Little Dinosaurs as well. Edward has entered into the Juneathon spirit and is now writing a mini blog of his cycle commute, five-a-side and the odd run. Here he is setting off this morning, iPhone in place to record his stats:

The run up to Ally Pally is one I used to do before I had a co-runner, so it was a real test to see how I would cope pushing the running buggy up there. First of all we ran through the local park, then negotiated a route though the madness that is Wood Green, then it was up hill all the way. Some of this was covering ground from the Hornsey 10k the other week, but even with a stomach bug I found it easier than with a buggy ahead of me! When we did make it to the top of the hill, I paused to take this photo:

Oh, and to catch my breath. It’s well worth the effort for the amazing views on a clear day. Now I was able to converse again, we chatted about tractor lawnmowers, leaf-blowers and dumper trucks; I wonder how many other runners have this sort of conversation…

When we eventually made it up to Little Dinosaurs, Hector was delighted to get out and do some running around himself, weaving in and out of other children on the soft play equipment and having a good old bounce on the bouncy castle (I kept well away). As I watched him I could hear chicks chirrupping and tweeting behind me and turned to see this view:

This has to be one of the oddest places for a bird to nest! We sat quietly and watched the mother swooping in and out with food for her little ones.

Stats for Juneathon Day 2

Type of run: Pushing buggy

Time: 1 hour 9 minutes 24 seconds

Distance: 6.13 miles

Average Pace: 11.19

Best Pace: 7.31

Calories: 727

Responses

  1. Springwatch were looking for people to write in with details of weird places that birds are nesting! You should let them know: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00sm50z

  2. Running uphill with buggy! I am in awe.

  3. WLP – I’ll look that up, it’s certainly a bit barmy isn’t it?!

    Sheri – It does make a difference, I should fly when I run solo!


Leave a Reply

Categories

