Posted by: fitartist | June 5, 2010

Stunt rider

This morning’s run was a family affair. Of course this means motivating three people out of the door, but it did mean I could run without pushing a buggy, a chance to push myself a bit. Once we did get out of the door, there was a fair bit of faffing as both Edward and I got our various GPS gadgets ready to go and we even had a fabulous countdown from Edward’s iPhone app: ‘5-4-3-2-1!’ blast off!

(another stuck kite)

By the time we got to the park I realised I wasn’t going to keep up with Edward, even pushing Hector he is fast. As a result I got to witness what happens when you are pushing the ‘smile magnet’ that is Hector: everyone they passed gave a wide smile or even a laugh then promptly gave me a blank stare. Very odd. I didn’t have much time to think about this as I was on a mission to catch up, whilst wiping the sweat from my brow, cheeks, arms…it’s hot out there, even at 8am, apparently we are going to have the hottest day of the year so far.

(Hector said: ‘Look, a ‘H’ in the sky!’)

We crossed over from park number one and into the bigger park where we did a couple of loops, passing the walkers, the Chinese walkers (one of whom was carrying her dog), the Turkish walkers and a few plodders too. When we got to the freestyle area, the boys made a detour to do some stunts and I kept going to do another lap. I have a feeling I will need to practice getting up these ramps and bumps as Hector will be wanting to do this every time we pass now.

Now we are getting ready to go and celebrate Max’s third birthday. For Hector it’s all about the cake: ‘Will Max have a big cake?’ it must be great being almost three.

Stats for Juneathon Day 5

Type of run: Family run

Time: 36 minutes 56 seconds

Distance: 4 miles

Average Pace: 9.25

Best Pace: 6.38

Calories: 444

Responses

  1. We did a family run too. Chris is like Edward tall and loads faster.

  2. I like the idea of national teams of walkers – an alternative world cup perhaps.

    Good to see a family at play

  3. Deepa – it sucks doesn’t it?! He takes one stride for two of mine.

    HK- what a fantastic idea, my money is on the Chinese ladies, they are a speedy bunch, but they do sometimes stop to do a bit of Tai Chi…hmmm, maybe not!


Leave a Reply

Categories

