Posted by: fitartist | June 8, 2010

Cloud watching

How lucky we were last week with fine weather for some lovely Juneathoning. Today has been a bit more challenging: it’s been sideways rain all the way. I had intended running to gymnastics this afternoon, but it was looking unlikely as the view out of the window was just a series of lines. Just as we were due to leave though, the clouds lifted slightly and we were allowed some sunshine to accompany us up to Hornsey Rise. Hector had a marvellous time at gymnastics, showing off his balancing, jumping and a splendid forward roll…and I had a sneaky jump on a trampoline.

The journey home was grim. I persuaded H back into the running buggy, battled with the doors and stepped out into more horizontal rain. Back we went. As we stood and watched, Hector suggested putting his rainsuit over his knees, with the hood covering his feet. Clever boy. It worked to a degree, but this was what I saw when I peeked in at the end of the run:

After a shower things picked up a bit and we had a look through our weekly organic box. Are we odd to get excited about a few vegetables and some fruit? We were particularly pleased with an enormous red pepper in this week’s offering.

Stats for Juneathon Day 8

Type of run: Pushing a running buggy

Time: 36 minutes 14 seconds

Distance: 3.40 miles

Average Pace: 10.39

Best Pace: 7.44

Calories: 369

Responses

  1. It all sounds extremely healthy and energetic! I feel tired out just reading it as I tuck into another fig roll with my evening cuppa. Well done both of you.

  2. That’s a great pace perhaps i should get a running buggy?

  3. Michael – I have the treats too, to balance it out, it’s not all run, run, run, well, not entirely!

    Phil – It’s amazing how it helps on the hills, I mean when I’m not pushing the buggy, the hills are so much easier…I think you might struggle around where you live though!

  4. Phil – just looked at those stats again and that average pace is all wrong! I’d never go that fast pushing H!! Will correct it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

