Posted by: fitartist | June 9, 2010

Have you got yours?

Yesterday I was getting more and more annoyed by the stupid pedestrians and their indecision about where on the pavement they might stand to allow me and my running buddy through. If I am approaching someone head on, I make it very clear which way I am going by moving to one side and looking very hard in that direction, but this means nothing to a line of teenagers who just look blankly at you whilst stuffing fried chicken and chips in their faces. I had a few near misses, and a few sudden stops as dozy kids ambled from side to side in front of me. Bus stops are a whole other issue: what happens to people when they stand near a bus stop? They lose all sense of direction and awareness of what’s around them and start swaying, bobbing, meandering and generally blocking the path for passers by. I did a piece of work once that looked at the way people move in a gallery when viewing work, and also focussed on the people standing at the bus stop outside; it was difficult to tell the two apart.

Today I had no such problem. On the return leg of our run -carefully planned to avoid getting wet through again – we bought a little present for Edward, something he feels his World Cup viewing would be a disaster without. After extensive research, we tracked down some vuvuzelas to Lidl for just £1.99, and Hector couldn’t wait to get it home, so happily ‘toot-toot-tooted’ all the way home. People not only leaped out of the way, but stopped and laughed, making comments such as ‘I wish I had a camera!’ Every runner should have one.

Click here to watch the video.

All this excitement proved a bit too much in the end though.

Stats for Juneathon Day 9

Type of run: Pushing a running buggy

Time: 34 minutes 14 seconds

Distance: 3.28 miles

Average Pace: 10.27

Best Pace: 8.10

Calories: 358

Responses

  1. I WANT ONE (brilliant post) your little boy is adorable!!!!

  2. Yes trying to predict the movements of pedestrians is a necessary but frustrating art.

    I actually think the worst places are supermarkets (but luckily you do not run through supermarkets).

  3. Michelle – Ah, thanks, I think so too, especially when he ‘winks’ at me, it looks more like gurning.

    HK – But I have! One day I did the Ally Pally six miler and got a bit lost round the back of Morrisons and the only logical way of dealing with it was to go through the supermarket. No, really!


Leave a Reply

Categories

