Posted by: fitartist | June 19, 2010

Racing the train

(a photo from a recent run, we are getting very excited about the upcoming blackberry crop)

Another Chorlton run. Edward’s parents suggested I pop down alongside the tramline which is currently under construction then follow the old railway line. The tramline looks promising, but it seems it will be a while before it’s up and running, but it was interesting to see what’s happening and run across the are near the soon-to-be-station. My run was unfortunately spoilt by a slug on a bike making a comment early on that made me feel quite threatened and vulnerable, why don’t these men think first and realise that women don’t like to hear these words when they’re out running on their own? It certainly doesn’t endear them to me.

The path is lovely, like being in the countryside, with lots of cyclists passing by, the odd dog walker and only two other runners (maybe runners do feel a bit vulnerable along here…). There were two middle aged women on bikes who must be training for something, they kept whizzing past then turning and coming back again, I found this reassuring if slightly bonkers! It’s a good route because there are lots of points where you can join up or exit and go in another direction and all of the bridges have the name of the road on, so you always know where you are.

I decided to run to the two mile point then turn around and come back. I really wish I hadn’t encountered that idiot because it really played on my mind throughout what should have been an enjoyable run. I don’t often worry about my safety whilst running, but I suppose it’s good to be aware. Anyway, I did meet a nice elderly gentleman on a bike, who stoped to ask how far I had run. Apparently he used to run until he broke his hip and had to have screws put in, so now he cycles instead (miles, it seems). I would recommend this path, but possibly as a group run route and definitely for cycling.

Stats for Juneathon Day 19

Type of run: solo run

Time: 38 minutes 42 seconds

Distance: 4.20 miles

Average Pace: 9.13

Best Pace: 5.51

Calories: 450

Off to see our friends in a bit for some catching up and moules frites. Mmmmmm.

Responses

  1. Shame about the slug on the bike. I hate idiots like that. Luckily they are few and far between.

  2. sorry to hear about the idiot you encountered, well done on keeping going X

  3. Nice bee photo.

    That sounds like a nice route. It is a shame something pleasant can be spoilt by idiots.

    But you have done well to keep Juneathon going whilst visiting family.

  4. Love that photo.
    Well done with the Juneathoning.

  5. Thanks for all your supportive comments. I spoke to my friend Gaelle that evening and she said she felt exactly the same running along there, it’s just so over-grown along the edges. She did say it’s great for a bike ride though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

