Posted by: fitartist | June 22, 2010

RIP Garmin Forerunner 201

Today’s run will have to be a cobbled together, slightly statistically inaccurate affair due to my beloved Garmin Forerunner 201 dying on me half way round my run. I’ve had my Garmin five years and bought it in the first place for my Trolley Spotting exploits, so it’s seen some fun times. It’s trained round two marathons, numerous other shorter races and documented my progress along a 91 mile run back in 2006. Things were going well until I stopped to pick something up from our storage space and, when we came back out to run home, the distance said I had only gone a few feet and the pace was stuck at 00.03. I can’t even switch it off. It might be that I can rescue things by letting the battery run down then re-setting it, but I think five years of really hard work is possibly enough for one little Garmin.

On another active note, I was wondering if hedge-trimming counts towards Juneathon; it’s certainly hard work in this scorching heat. But I do have a little helper…

We are gearing up towards Hector’s third birthday party at the weekend. Edward has even taken some time off work to bake, there is a high expectation for an amazing cake, well he did set himself up last year by making a fantastic digger cake and the year before with his delicious chocolate bird cake. Hector and I went to collect the eggs from our friend Marijn, who lives down the road, it seems oddly appropriate that we collect our weekly eggs from our midwife! The eggs are lovely big ones with bright yellow yolks, they make a great quiche and lovely light sponges…

Stats for Juneathon Day 22

Type of run: Pushing a running buggy

Time: Not known

Distance: 5.36 miles

Average Pace: Not known

Best Pace: Not known

Calories: Not known

(I measured using Gmaps, how old school!)

Responses

  1. Oh dear a sad day indeed.
    But on a positive note there are so many new and wonderful garmins out there for you to play with.

  2. It is sad when things break but you have definitely earned a new toy

  3. RIP Mr Garmin!

  4. It may not be dead. If you still have the manual (if not, you may find one online) look to see if there is a bit in there about a reset function. My 205 “died” on me a few months back and it was just a case of holding down a couple of buttons at the same time (I think it may have been Enter & Reset). If that doesn’t work then maybe it really is dead and is off to the Great Sweaty Wrist In The Sky.

  5. ‘Great Sweaty Wrist In The Sky’! Marvellous! That’s the trouble with this model, fabric strap, yuk.

    Got it charging up now to see what happens. I do have an F50, so all is not completely lost! I might end up running with everything on, just in case.


Leave a Reply

Categories

