Posted by: fitartist | June 28, 2010

Feelin’ hot, hot, hot!

I imagine I used that as a title last year during Juneathon, but what the heck, there are only two more days to go and this weather is really making it hard to put one foot in front of the other. As I run, I pass by girls in pretty summer dresses and strappy sandals, and chaps in cool shorts and shirts, all sauntering slowly at a pace that suits this kind of weather. There I am, dripping sweat all over the pavement and clomping along in heavy running shoes, maximising the coverage of my lycra outfit against the burning rays. I am at that stage in Juneathon where I am a bit addicted and get all grumpy if my run is put off for any length of time, and I also start to wonder if I could carry this on beyond the 30th of June, running each day but without the support, motivation and pressure of the Juneathon collective to get me out there. We will see.

As befits this heat, Hector and I set off towards the paddling pool to cool our toes, but he fell asleep pretty much straight away. I smothered more sun cream on him and kept on going, but the heat really got me today, making my legs feel very sluggish and my feet very heavy. I got there in the end though.

Oh, and the Garmin was behaving today, I think yesterday’s glitch was due to the heavy tree coverage at Highgate Wood.

I wish I could be thrown around like that.

tats for Juneathon Day 28

Type of run: Pushing a running buggy

Time: 31 minutes 29 seconds

Distance: 3.14 miles

Average Pace: 10.01

Best Pace: 8.09

Calories: 339

Responses

  1. I really struggle in the heat – hence all my runs at the moment being in the evening when it’s (hopefully) a bit cooler!

    Great picture 🙂

  2. great pic.

  3. Yes, but this sort of weather begs for beers and ice cream (not at the same time) and after a run you can enjoy them guilt-free, unlike those walking around it summer dresses and shorts. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

