Posted by: fitartist | July 3, 2010

My tenth Parkrun and a Juneathon win

I had a big smile on my face as I cycled over to Finsbury Park this morning, I had had a quick look at Twitter before I left and found out I had ‘won’ Juneathon. My wrist felt a bit airy as I pedalled along and I realised I’d left my Garmin at home, for a second I considered turning back then thought ‘Nah’ and carried on, all carefree and happy. I was even there early enough to stretch a bit, chat and saunter over to the start line feeling fresh rather than frantic, as I normally do. The heat was a challenge on this race, and I enjoyed the downhill stretch, not just for it’s downward properties, but also for the shade it offered. I chatted with someone called Roz on the way round, we found we ran at the same pace and used this to push ourselves and each other along a bit. I don’t normally do this, but it seemed to work and, on the second hill I thought I had left her behind, but she had walked a bit to gain some strength and sped through towards the finish line ahead of me! I think we’ve started something.

I will post my result for this race later when I get the Parkrun email, but I think Roz managed a PB, which is great!

So, to Juneathon. I am delighted to be the winner, but also shocked when you consider all the people who took part this year and the effort that was made to reach personal goals and pass markers from previous years that left some defeated. Everyone has a Juneathon story and it’s fantastic to be a part of this, to share in the ups and downs of a month of jolly hard work. There were so many people blogging this year that I found it hard to keep up at times, goodness knows how Cathy and Shaun managed it! I could sit here all day listing the various blogs I have enjoyed and the many achievements followed, but one person I really enjoyed following was Deepa. I saw her mention running on the first of June on Twitter, and asked her to join us in Juneathon, so she set up a blog for herself and dedicated some time each day to a different activity, managing to run on 22 of the 30 days, amazing when you consider that she’s pretty new to running. That’s what it’s all about.

Of course, my Juneathon wouldn’t be possible without the support of my two-strong team of coaches, Edward and Hector. Thank you to Edward for encouraging me and making time for me to fit in a run on some very busy family days (June is a crazy birthday month in our house) and a BIG HUGE thank you to my little fella Hector for accompanying me so enthusiastically and shouting: ‘Faster Mummy!’ on those hard bits, you little super star!

Responses

  1. Congratulations – well done and well deserved.

  2. congratulations adele you really did desreve to win ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. *deserve

  4. Well Done Adele. A near-perfect running streak last year and a brilliant effort this year… The Juneathon title is well deserved.

  5. Well run and done!

  6. Well done! I’m so impressed that you won. Thank you so much for your encouragement. I owe you glass of champers! xx

  7. Thank you everyone, still smiling here ๐Ÿ™‚

    Deepa – I look forward to that! Though, it’s not a WW champers is it? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. A belated but hearty congratulations! Due to my limited technology I’ve not been able to see your photos or comment on your posts for the last 10 days – finally I get to see the cake!

  9. Hey good for you and I’m sure you’ll enjoy those VFFs.


Leave a Reply

Categories

