Posted by: fitartist | July 14, 2010

More running, less blogging

Yes, I’m still here, still running, but not so much blogging now Juneathon is over. I must admit, I have felt mightily out of sorts since it finished the other week, feeling unmotivated, a bit low and a tad blue. The thought of a post-Juneathon get-together this weekend has given me a boost and I have been out running again this week, back to the usual routes, but wishing to go further in anticipation of the upcoming half-marathon in August.

At the weekend, we went to a gorgeous wedding in West Sussex and I wished I had taken my running shoes with me, but instead I enjoyed a saunter around the little lake with Hector on his bike, taking in the fresh country air and wandering through fields filled with hopping rabbits and swooping birds.

Tomorrow is the local Sure Start Children’s’ Centres’ ‘Mini Olympics’ and picnic, I guess it’s a little sports day for smaller people. Now, there seems to be a trend for giving everyone a medal or prize, no matter how well or not so well they do. I agree that a child’s confidence and self-esteem should be boosted, but I do think it’s ok to learn about losing at an early age, that’s life! I was thinking back to my own school sports days, and I didn’t really consider myself one of the sporty gang, I was self-conscious and didn’t want to draw attention to myself in that way (though I would happily stand up on stage and strut my stuff with immense confidence!), but we had winners and we had losers and that was just fine. We knew what to expect, and to see a fellow pupil excel in something made us feel that we could do that if we tried a bit harder, or feel happy for them and enjoy and celebrate their success and natural ability.

I had high hopes for Hector in the running race, he is incredibly fast for one so small and takes great joy from just sprinting until he drops, but he said today that he would like ‘to just watch, then go home’. If there was a jumping from a great height category, he would be first to take the mark:

So, a little run yesterday and another short run today, though I think my Garmin has played tricks with me here, because this is a run I do most Wednesdays, and it usually comes in at just over three miles. Oh well.

Tuesday:

Time: 30 minutes 57 seconds

Distance: 3.09 miles

Average Pace: 10.00

Best Pace: 7.30

Calories: 305

Wednesday:

Time: 28 minutes

Distance: 2.60 miles

Average Pace: 10.46

Best Pace: 8.37

Calories: 259

Responses

  1. There needs to be another challenge, once a year is not enough. Do you have any races planned?

    • Sorry for the delay Ev! Yes, I am doing a half in August, but not managing to run any great distance right now – eek! I need to get some longer runs in soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

