Posted by: fitartist | October 26, 2010

Nike Grid Crazy!

The whole of London (well, London’s running community at least) has gone Nike Grid crazy. London has been divided up into postcode areas and within these postcodes are four selected phone boxes. You run to your first phone box, dial the number, give your (pre-registered) details and start your run to the next box and so on. It doesn’t stop there of course, people can compete for various badges for frequency, speed and so on. I am beginning to think there should be a ‘nutter’ badge and an ‘obsessed’ badge.

I am running for Team Audiofuel, who are proving to be quite the running obsessives. I feel like the slower hanger-onner bringing up the rear, but being part of such a dedicated team is a real motivator, you wouldn’t catch me legging it up Green Lanes at nine o’clock on a Friday night after putting Hector to bed normally! My nearest postcode area is N4 and this means me running for about ten minutes before I even reach the first box. Now, I haven’t been in a phone box for years and, in this hi-tech age it seems a bit odd to be doing such a thing for a challenge organised by Nike, but go in a phone box I did. The first phone box was giving me jip and wouldn’t dial up, so I thought my race was over before I had begun, but things soon got going and off I went, dodging the crowds pouring out of restaurants and shops and leaping across roads to beat the green man.

It’s definitely a good interval session, and people make it into endurance, speed and hill sessions by mixing up the postcodes and trying to run every route possible in their area, something I plan to try at the weekend. I would love to have more time to try out the different areas, the Archway route looks like a doddle for instance, with three of the phone boxes being almost next to each other. Tomorrow, if the weather looks good, I might attempt a running buggy Nike Grid run, Hector has expressed and interest, as long as it includes a playground stop.

Monday

Time: 40 minutes 36 seconds

Distance: 4.15 miles

Average Pace: 9.48

Best Pace: 7.09

Calories: 432

Friday

Time: 42 minutes 44 seconds

Distance: 4.48 miles

Average Pace: 9.32

Calories: 413

Responses

  1. You might struggle to squeeze the buggy in one of those phone boxes.

  2. I didn’t make it out today after all, I’ve been struck down by a killer sore throat and conjunctivitis. It’s hideous.

  3. Hi there,

    I am contacting you from the Lounge Group, a marketing communications agency based in London Bridge. I am looking to contact people who have participated in the Nike Grid challenge for a short (preferably on camera) interview for a consumer report. I am sorry to hear that you couldn’t compete in the end, however if you could help me atall that would be great! Basically I am looking ot meet up and interview people (individuals or a group), in any london location preferably over the next couple of days, on camera about their motivations for participating in the challenge and the experience that they had. The interviews and your blog would then be featured in the published report and the accompanying event presenting the report to brands.

    If you can help me out or put me in contact with anyone who can, that would be great!

    All the best,

    Alex Crossley

    alex.crossley@theloungegroup.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

