Posted by: fitartist | January 1, 2011

Janathon Day 1: Easy Does It

Happy New Year! The past couple of days have been all about this for me:

– the cake that Edward and Hector made for my birthday, a gigantic brownie with Maya Gold chunks and peanut butter pushed into the top. Divine! It’s also been about this:

Friends. Friends who travelled all the way from Manchester and South Wales via Harwich and Norfolk, dedication to the cause. This meant my first run of 2011 and the first of Janathon had to pushed back until our guests had taken leave, which meant a four o’clock run under a darkening sky and a shower of rain. A taste of things to come, no doubt. It would have been easier if I had managed to get out earlier, but I wanted to maximise my time with our lovely friends and besides, I felt a little delicate after a night filled with champagne cocktails and wine and G&T and…and… Yes, I know, that’s definitely classed as binge drinking, but I think one slip is allowed ahead of a month of binge running.

As I put my contact lenses in, I could hear the rain dripping on the bathroom window and felt decidedly uninspired by the prospect of a run, but I had the boost of a new long-sleeved running top to debut and my gorgeous new running shoes. Erm, call me girly, but I decided against the shoes because I didn’t want to get them wet. With a month of running ahead of me, I didn’t want to over do it, so just aimed for three miles (I have set myself the same minimum-three-miles goal as in Juneathon) around the local park, passing the local drunks a few times, and giving sideways glances to the lovely running track on a couple of laps – I will go there one day, really I will. This run gave me a chance to think about why I am doing Janathon. As some of you may know, I ‘won’ Juneathon in 2010, so there’s that little achievement to live up to, but Janathon seems a bit different, maybe more competitive, with the fantastic array of prizes and the hundred+ runners signing allegiance to the cold, wet run. My reasons for participating in Juneathon previously have always been to feel the support of my fellow bloggers, to have a goal to boost my running and to feel a part of something positive, so these are good enough reasons to join in with Janathon as well. I also have a longer-term goal of the Brighton Marathon to get me out there. I only found out about my place on my birthday, so I need to get my training into gear, with Janathon being a slightly odd way to tackle my first month! I will be running for Guidedogs, and will post a link to my sponsorship page when I set it up.

So, a good start, and I look forward to another run tomorrow, maybe in the daylight hours 🙂

Janathon day 1:

Time: 32 minutes 47 seconds

Distance: 3.16 miles

Average Pace: 10.23

Best Pace: 7.01

Calories: 309

 

 

Responses

  1. Well done for getting out there… I think it’s harder when you’ve people around who aren’t running as well. You never know, maybe you’ll be the proud winner of Janathon as well… it’s certainly a fab achievement to have completed Junathon, let alone won it! Congrats on getting into the Brighton Marathon too! Good luck! 🙂

  2. Mmm, that cake looks gorgeous. I love brownies and peanut butter.

  3. Have to say that cake looks delicious. I don’t even know what Maya Gold is but it certainly looks yummy. Anyway well done on the run – there’s no shame in saving the new shoes for a dryer day! Perhaps use them on the “lovely running track” – it sounds cleaner than a run in the park too!! 🙂

  4. Wow! Have you considered lending out Edward and Hector? That cake looks gorgeous. I was trying very hard not to be terrified by the scale of Janathon, but it’s seeming just as lovely as its big brother!

  5. OOooooh that cake looks gorgeous. I know what you mean about Janathon feeling different, I think there’s just so many more people involved this time – still promises to be lots of fun though. Good luck!

  6. sounds like a great way to start the new year!

  7. mmm. I can’t stop looking at that cake.

  8. *holds out plate* 🙂

    Well done, and good luck with the rest of Janathon xx

  9. As always it is impressive how you can get out for a run even late in the day.

    Have you founds some good routes yet? I always find it takes time to get used to a place.

    Good luck

  10. The cake’s all gone – licks lips – I did share it though, honest 😉

    Thanks for all the comments, this is what Jan/Junathon is all about.

    Stephen, Maya Gold is a Green and Black’s chocolate, sort of orangey and very dark. Mmmmm.

    HK, I haven’t really ventured very far in our new area yet, so much to explore, but I find it daunting, and have concerns about getting lost! It takes time, as you say.


Leave a Reply

Categories

