Posted by: fitartist | January 2, 2011

Janathon Day 2: New Places, New Shoes

I really wanted to get my run done early today, but Edward said he wanted us to set off to the swimming pool straight after breakfast. Only one thing for it then, run to the pool! We only moved here at the beginning of November and, as I haven’t done much running in that time, I haven’t had a chance to explore the area much, so the idea of setting off on a new route is slightly daunting. At our old house, I had a huge selection of running routes to choose from, collected over a period of about six years from different points, so I could easily head off in any direction and not get lost, even if my run for that day needed to cover eighteen miles or so! With the weather being so cold and icy recently, we have been hibernating, so Janathon will give me a chance to explore a bit more and venture further than the park at the end of our road (handy, but it’s tempting to stay within its cosy confines).

One of the marvellous things we have discovered about our new area is that, if you go to one of the swimming pools in Lewisham at the weekend and show your library cards, a family of up to two adults and two children can swim for free! We have a pool about ten minutes walk away, but we thought we’d try the Wavelengths pool in Deptford today. So, the boys went to catch a bus, and I headed out in my new running shoes – no rain today, so they remained bright and white:

It turns out that the pool is only about two and a half miles from home, so I had to run a bit further then turn back to make it up to the three miles I wanted to cover. This means that I could easily reach Greenwich or Blackheath in about twenty minutes, so many fantastic routes to be discovered there, no doubt. The pool was great fun: lovely and warm, clean (unlike the pool we used to go to with its floating poo, cockroaches and the like) and they even had some waves, bubbles and jets of (cold) water to make us shriek and gasp. I love our family swim sessions.

After all this activity, we headed off to China Town to meet some north London friends that we hadn’t seen since our move. We ate dim sum, chatted, walked through St James’ Park and the boys enjoyed each other’s company once again:

Janathon day 2:

Time: 33 minutes 24 seconds

Distance: 3.12 miles

Average Pace: 10.42

Best Pace: 7.35

Calories: 336

Responses

  1. Wha wha wha, really?! I have a library card for Lewisham, does that mean I can use the pool free of charge? Awesome.

    We should meet for a run sometime now we’re both doing Brighton!

  2. This free swimming with a library card is excellent – I wish our pool/library did something similar. A small tip if you’re looking for new running routes: plan them out on Google Maps. I’ve found many a good route doing this and if you use GMap Pedometer (http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/) you can work out the exact distance too. Very handy!

  3. I like the picture of Hector and friend. There is something amazingly cute about young kids bundled up for winter

  4. That sounds like a great day.

    I really need to get down to the pool its been months since I’ve been swimming.

    Good luck with the rest of the month

  5. Hels, I’m not sure of the restrictions involved, there are time/day restrictions, but I’m not sure if you have to have a child with you…I think the Lewisham website might be useful. Yes, we should definitely meet up soon and run, seems daft not to! I will DM you my number.

    Thanks Stephen, I love looking at maps, it’s a bit of an obsession of mine, I just lose my way whilst out there, which isn’t fun when you want to just run. We are very lucky with the swimming thing, especially since most councils have cut free swimming for under 16s and over 60s.

    HK, yes, extra cuddly, but it does take about half an hour to leave the house, what with all the extra layers and bits and bobs!

    Helen, the ‘swim’ was more of a splash with a small boy, but I did a few lengths to stretch out after my run and it felt gooood.

  6. Awesome idea about discovering new routes….thanks πŸ™‚

  7. sounds like a perfect combination!

  8. That sounds like a brilliant day, do you fancy adopting me? I can bring ferrero rocher (if Ginge hasn’t snaffled the last one)…

    Have you had a look at http://www.walkjogrun.net/ for new routes? Having said that, I appear to have broken it as now it won’t find the UK, let alone my village.

  9. That definitely sounds like a fun day to me… πŸ™‚

  10. Welcome to our neighbourhood. Lewisham’s free swimming for families requires one child under 16 and up to two adults. See http://bit.ly/FreeSwim for details

  11. Thanks for that link Forest Hill Society, it is a great scheme. I’m always amazed at how quiet it is!

    Travelling Hopefully – thanks, I shall have a look. Hopefully it’s fixed by now πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

