Posted by: fitartist | January 13, 2011

Janathon Day 13: Ode to Joy

Hmmm, I was going to post a video of Hector and his marvellous rendition of ‘Ode to Joy’, but can’t seem to get the video on here, so here’s a non-moving version:

It’s been another drizzly, grizzly sort of day, so we stayed mostly indoors and ventured out for the swimming lesson this afternoon, to get wet. More water-based fun and some interesting time spent afterwards at the pet shop across the road from the swimming pool. It’s an amazing place, with an extensive collection of fish, which Hector could look at for hours. Much to my enjoyment, he was rather taken by the kittens today (with bright blue eyes). I did feel rather sad that they were in an enclosure and obviously wanting to play, but with that level of cuteness, I’m sure someone will snap them up soon.

It was drizzling down when Edward cycled home, so I wasn’t feeling too joyful about my imminent run but, as usual, gritted my teeth and got on with it. Now, the other day I received a big package in the post, containing a much, much smaller package: my new iPod Shuffle! Why Amazon have to be so generous with the packaging, I don’t know. I had used some birthday money to treat myself to this little – tiny – device, with the long marathon training runs in mind. I don’t normally run with music, due to the feeling of slight vulnerability and the need to run faster, and I have been known to stop and dance if a really good track comes on. I decided to give it a go. So, standing in front of the house, I waited for my ancient Garmin to do its thing and fiddled with the little buttons and thought: ‘This is too much stuff’, and set off on my slightly more merry way.

I was soon picking up the pace and kept the sound levels low enough to still register my foot fall and my breathing and, of course, the traffic. It was interesting having a beat to run to and it really did give me a surge on those hills. I thought I had set it to ‘play in order’, but it must have been ‘shuffle’ as the beginning of an Audiofuel track kicked in then faded away after the nice man said: ‘Now you will begin your 30 second sprint!’ – perhaps Brockley Road during rush hour is not the best place to introduce sprinting. It all worked its magic though, and I found myself legging it along and really pushing myself. I do need to upload some more music and work out playlist thingies so the Audiofuel and the other stuff don’t get mixed up again. I can see this being a nice ‘treat’ to fall back on when the going gets tough on a twenty miler.

Janathon day 13:

Time: 30 minutes 26 seconds

Distance: 3.10 miles

Average Pace: 9.48

Best Pace: 7.51

Calories: 361

And today is my sister’s birthday, happy birthday Michaela.

 

Responses

  1. I love my shuffle. Which colour did you get?

  2. Green. I spent ages deciding!

  3. Cute xylophonist

  4. You should see the video Shaz, he’s on the drums and says: ‘I’m playing Ode to Joy!’ and then carries on drumming away. Wish I could get it on here.

  5. I have a blogger acount rather than wordpress but one way of doing it would be to load your video on to youtube you can select the embed code and add to a blog post

  6. great colours and composition in the photo. thanks for sharin gthe delight!


Leave a Reply

Categories

