Posted by: fitartist | January 22, 2011

Janathon Day 22: Pom-Pom-P-P-P-Pom-Pom!

Nonsense, I know. I’m tired. This afternoon, Hector and I went on a round trip of about six hours to go to his friend’s birthday party in North London, where we used to live. It just proves how very far away we have moved. It was lovely to see everyone again, and for Hector to jump around and have some fun with familiar faces, but boy, this party animal thing takes it out of you! This did mean a morning run again, but after breakfast, thank goodness. It was a very French sort of breakfast: coffee, croissant, pointy French bread and a selection of homemade jams. We are getting into practice for April, when Edward and Steven will be heading over to Paris on a little bike ride (I should encourage a blog…).

My run was another errand type run, this time without a running buggy to carry the stuff, but an annoying rucksack bouncing around on my back. Well, I say bouncing around, it was quite still, but made loads of noise, I felt paranoid when passing people and kept putting my hand behind my back to still the din. It was drizzly – or my new favourite word, as seen over on Running Matters, ‘mizzly’ – out there, so not the most lovely of runs, but I did it and got some parcel-collection errands done into the bargain. I apologise to anyone in the Lewisham sorting office this morning, I was a bit sweaty.

On another note, I knitted myself a hat this week and, when I put it on proudly, Edward said: ‘Ooh, I can’t quite place it’. He thought about it for a bit and then said: ‘Badly Drawn Boy!’. Thanks. To get rid of any Badly references, I made a great big pom-pom and sewed it on the top. I don’t think there are many things as pleasurable as making a pom-pom, try it, it’s simply delightful!

Janathon day 22:

Time: 31 minutes 39 seconds

Distance: 3.02 miles

Average Pace: 10.30

Best Pace: 7.47

Calories: 331

Tomorrow I am supposed to do a long run, what with marathon training and all. Hmmm, this three-mile minimum I set myself for Janathon (and Juneathon) means I find it hard to go beyond three miles at the moment, so it should be interesting!

Responses

  1. Last time I made a pom pom it disintegrated after 1/2 and hour not sure where I went wrong. Enjoy your long run tomorrow and good luck with that

  2. Great hat! Really nice colour, suits you!

  3. great colour and I love the pattern!

  4. Handy pompom hint #1 – steaming it over a kettle helps create extra fluffiness.

    Handy pompom hint #2 – holding it too near to the steaming kettle results in a soggy bundle on the end of a piece of wool.

    I realised the magical power of the pom pom when I made with a pack holiday full of hyperactive Brownies – it was the only peace we had all weekend!

  5. Ah, thanks all!

    Travelling Hopefully – I shall be introducing my pom-pom to a kettle, you can’t have too much fluffiness!

    Brownies, yay! I was a Brownie, Brownies rock.

  6. Two bits of cardboard dounought shaped, winding wool around I think makes a pom pom. But seriously Adele step away from the pom pom, the hat was just as nice without, but whatever floats your whatever! As usual a busy day for you but you managed 3 miles..I have no excuses πŸ™‚

  7. Errr…

  8. …sorry… no… it’s lovely!… really! πŸ˜‰

  9. It’s weird how you condition yourself into a distance like this – I used to think 6 miles was the easiest jog in the world but you’re right in saying that anything over the usual Janathon distance now seems a struggle. I too have a long run planned for today so hopefully it’s all in our heads and we both have a great ones – good luck! Oh and love that!! πŸ™‚

  10. But Susan, pom-poms are the thing right now, all the kids are wearing them, and I’m so down with the kids πŸ˜‰

    Stephen – good luckw ith your long run too, I am putting it off right now…ok, bracing myself, here goes!

  11. lovely to see such enthusiasm for pompoms, perhaps feb could be a pompomathon?


Leave a Reply

Categories

