Posted by: fitartist | January 27, 2011

Janathon Day 27: A Janathon PB

A pre-dinner, pre-bedtime run and I decided to lift my spirits with some music. As I stood in the biting cold wind waiting for my ancient Garmin to crawl slowly towards a signal of some sort, Florence and the Machine kicked in. I was actually jigging around on the pavement, itching to get going! Whenever I listen to their music, I think how good it would be to run to, so one of the first things I did when I got my little (tiny actually) iPod Shuffle was to put Florence on, but today was my first run with her keeping me company. Oh my. I actually started with a sprint down our road, not advisable really, but I felt like a child, running along like it was the best thing in the world. ‘Dog Days Are Over’ seems just perfect for a run, amazing tempo and the words: ‘Run fast for your mother, run fast for your father, run for your children and your sisters and brothers…’ I think the commuters sluggishly crawling off their trains thought I was possessed.

I didn’t think this fast start could carry on for long, but I just kept going for it, reaching up the hills, weaving in and out of pavement strollers and pausing for a millisecond at each junction. It felt like a good run should: easy, powerful, unbeatable. I was that person you see in cheesy ads, reaching the top of a hard hill, stopping, hands on hips and looking around at an amazing view. Ah yes, this is why we do it!

This is the sort of view I imagine, but it was dark, so my view was limited.

(Oh, and yesterday I passed the one hundred mile mark).

Janathon day 27:

Time: 29 minutes 19 seconds

Distance: 3.17 miles

Average Pace: 9.16

Best Pace: 6.42

Calories: 339

Responses

  1. Well done on passing 100. Awesome run – maybe the rest of us should give Florence a try!

  2. Wow on the view, wow on the 100 mile mark and double wow for the speed, fantastic

  3. Oh Adele you had a ‘Tigger’ day too! Just slightly more..ok way more impressive than mine. Infact having read a few blogs tonight, I think I shall rename Janathon day 27 a Tigger Day. πŸ™‚

  4. Excellent! isn’t it good to have such days.

    And looking down on London is such a cool thing to do

  5. […] Day 28: In Contrast Yesterday was officially named ‘Tigger Day’ by There’s a Six Pack Under Here, what with all […]

  6. Well done on reaching 100 – and lucky you getting to run in Greenwich Park!!!

  7. Ah, after posting this then reading the responses, I realised that the photo was misleading. I was trying to illustrate the feeling I had from that run, I was actually running in the dark! I tried to find one of my photos of the view from Hilly Fields or Blythe Hill, my nearest views over London. I will take a photo on the next clear day, and you can see what I mean.

    And yes, it is Greenwich, and this photo was taken in the Autumn, I’m guessing it looks less leafy right now!

  8. Florence certainly is the best to run too I love that song and too can be seen speeding up like a demented women. Kings of Leon is great for your ipod shuffle too!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

