Posted by: fitartist | January 31, 2011

Janathon Day 31: First Day/Last Day

Today was the first day in three-and-a-half years that I left Hector in the care of someone other than Edward. It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. I took him to nursery this morning and started to feel sad when I saw the other little ones looking longingly at their parents as they left, some even having a sob. I quickly ushered Hector past all this upset and to some paint, to busy him with creative play. After a while he ventured into a small side room where there were some stickle bricks and he happily played with some other children and one of his teachers. For quite a while. I saw this as my chance to leave, but had really wanted to say goodbye instead of sneaking away so, instead, I was told I could make myself a cup of tea in the staff room (and pull myself together presumably!). As I sat there, I thought if I were to go in and say goodbye, he would become too upset, so I made the decision to just go. I spoke to Edward on the phone as I walked home crying and he told me to look in the bedroom because there was a card there for me. So I sat on the bedroom floor laughing and crying at the same time. I do have the most wonderful husband in the world, who knows exactly what makes me happy:

I’ve always wanted a utility belt, and now I have one for my ‘new job’ as gardener and decorator.

I busied myself with tidying and such like then was cheered up when our neighbour rang the bell to say she had seen Hector playing happily on the see-saw when she dropped her daughter off…and would I like to go round for a coffee. How very grown up!

The time came to collect Hector from nursery and I walked quickly, trying not to run and look like Mad Mum. It was a bit odd really, I expected him to want to hug me, but he was quiet and subdued. Apparently he had had a good time and hadn’t cried (phew), so I didn’t push him for information, and we just walked in the sunshine and chatted. I thought it fitting on this last Janathon day for us to go for a running buggy run and, as it was a special day, and so wonderfully sunny, we took a picnic to the park:

(the cheese muffins we made when Hector got home 🙂 )

So, Janathon is complete. I ran every day and blogged every day, as I did in June. This was different though. Most of my Juneathon runs were with Hector in the passenger seat, long meandering explorations with blackberry picking and sandpit stops. Most of my Janathon runs were run in the dark, either at the crack of dawn (eek!) or in the gloomy depths of commuter time. But I loved it all, really I did! There is something very special about this experience: there is no way I would have done some of those runs if it wasn’t for the support of my virtual (and some now real) friends, and that feeling of not wanting let them or myself down. I wish I could replicate that feeling at other times! In total I ran 130.7 miles, about 22 miles further than Juneathon 2010. I hadn’t set myself a goal other than to run a minimum of three miles each time, so I am pretty pleased with that. I know there are people out there who ran these kinds of distances in the first week, and I take my Nike ear-warming hat off to them, but there are also people out there who have started from scratch and have stuck at it in possibly the darkest, coldest month of the year – a bloody well done to them! I would also like to say a HUGE thank you to Cathy for keeping on top of it all, amazing, and all for the love of it.

So what next? I have a marathon to train for, so I will be easing back on this running every day lark and sticking to the plan. That’ll be sixteen miles this weekend then. Check back and see how I’m getting on, I look forward to keeping up with and in touch with the rest of you Janathoners in the future, and meeting some of you at the get-together in a few weeks. Pats on the back all round.

Janathon day 31:

Time: 32 minutes 47 seconds

Distance: 3.01 miles

Average Pace: 10.53

Best Pace: 8.35

Calories: 350

Total for January 2011: 130.7 miles

**Update!** If anyone fancies sponsoring my marathon effort, you can donate to the Guidedogs charity here. Thank you! xxx

Responses

  1. So glad today went well for Hector, it will become easier. I was sad leaving madam at 8 years old at school today after a week at home with her so totally understand the wrench for you. I too would like a utility belt but only if it came with choc. Good luck with the marathon training

  2. A nerve-wracking day, but it sounds as if he took to it well. I remember the overwhelming anxiety, though it was nearly twenty years ago for our eldest. Lovely day for a picnic!

  3. Well done!! Good luck with the 16 miler this weekend!!

  4. It’s been really nice reading your blog – good luck with the marathon training and will definitely be checking in to see how you’re getting on. Well done on a great Janathon!

  5. That was a very big day.
    But it is always a good sign when the parent is more upset than the child.

    The thoughtfulness of Edward is to be commended. So well done to him and well done to you for getting through it

  6. Good to hear Hector had a good morning and you survived. So nice that you then had such a lovely afternoon, Well done on Janathon and good luck for your marathon.

  7. Congratulations on running over 130 miles and agree it’s much harder in the dark/cold, but that’s when you need community support more.

    Oh and love the utility belt…

  8. What a big day for you, glad it went well. Congratulations on completing Janathon and for running 130+ miles, great achievement. Good luck in your marathon 🙂

  9. Its great that eveything went well for Hector. Give it a few weeks and you’ll be cursing when the nursery is on holiday as you’ll start to miss your free time ;-). Well done on completing Janathon and good luck with the Marathon. You should keep blogging and keep everyone up to date how your getting on.

  10. Well done you and Hector, glad the big day went well! It’s hard but it *does* get easier, honestly.

  11. Thank you for all your kind comments everyone. I know it will get easier, and it’s a step at a time. It’s a whole new world…and no Janathon to distract me!

    I will continue to blog about my running and general day-to-day, my blog has been going for about five years now, so I’ve definitely got the blog-bug 🙂

  12. Lovely final blog, Adele. Hope to see you again soon for more running and cake 🙂 xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

