Posted by: fitartist | March 6, 2011

Escape Gate

The route I took today. Unfortunately.

I got up feeling as if I had pulled something in my back so, when I set off on what was supposed to be a twenty-mile run, I had a sort of stitch pain in my ribcage every time I took a deep breath. This combined with a slightly dodgy tummy, an under-prepared plan and a negative mindset led to a really poor run. Actually, it wasn’t all bad, the first two miles were a delight because I had Edward and Hector next to me on the bike, with Hector shouting: ‘Come on!’ every few minutes. They headed off to the swimming pool in Deptford and left me to go on my merry way. I tried, I really did, but every time someone overtook me I felt more and more fed-up so, after I reached ten  miles – on the South Bank – I made a decision to get on the train and go home. Arrrghghg, I cringe typing that, and read over it in disbelief, I have never done anything like that before, never. And I won’t do it again. I can learn a lot from this run:

– be prepared, both physically and mentally before setting off

– look at these last few weeks before the marathon as ‘full-time’ running, not just rolling up before a long run and ‘winging it’

– get some proper running socks to prevent penny-sized blisters

– don’t try running westwards along the Thames at the weekend, it’s just daft

So there, I’ve told you all now and, as Edward has kindly pointed out more than once this afternoon, I am a quitter, but I am leaving it there and will prepare myself properly for next week’s long run.

In the meantime, can I tell you about a really quite bonkers place? Crystal Palace Park. Don’t trust the TFL website, they told me to catch five buses and then catch the train to Milton Keynes and walk from there, when actually there is a bus from the end of our road. During our visit this afternoon, we saw two men practicing whip-cracking. Yes, you read correctly, whip-cracking! They had these really long whips and were just cracking them and making an incredibly loud sound. Now, I have some odd interests, but this really is off the wall. In what situation would you require such a skill?! Anyway, Crystal Palace Park is also home to the fantastic running track, the wonderful swimming/diving pool (where we were allowed in to watch a bit of a gala), some dinosaurs, the lovely maze (pictured at the top of this post) and…wait for it…the London RC Club. As we walked past the swimming pool, we could hear this immense engine sound, which we thought must be motorbikes or something but, as we got closer, we could see that it was a miniature racing track with remote control racing cars whizzing round it! Really, if you are in the south London area, do pay the park a visit, it’s quite something.

And another thing, to distract you from my shitty run, this is what raised beds are really for:

Time: 1 hour 45 minutes 59 seconds

Distance: 10.02 miles

Average Pace: 10.17

Best Pace: 7.06

Calories: 1038

Responses

  1. Every so often we will have a day when nothing is right. I don’t know why it happens but uncertainty makes us human and not machines.

    When bad days happen we have to deal with them appropriately. Sometimes struggling on works and gives a degree of satisfaction. At other times it is not worth it because getting too tired would degrade future training and on balance do more harm than good.

    Abandoning is therefore wise. Think of it as a run deferred not a run abandoned. It will come right.

    As for Crystal Palace – I have memories of the dinosaurs from my childhood. I had to go back when I was older to check that I had not imagined it because it all seemed so strange

    • Thank you, I will keep the words: ‘a run deferred not a run abandoned’ in my mind.

      Crystal Palace is crazy isn’t it? We were only there for a few hours, it was a last minute decision to cheer us all up, and it did. Hector thought the maze was really exciting, whizzing around it on his bike, and we even had to climb the gate the get out as we ended up getting locked in. Ahem. We will definitely be going again.

  2. Been there, done that. I got on a bus after 2 miles! Write it off.

    I find good runs tend to follow bad ones very quickly!

    • Thanks Tom. I will try and get out for a run tomorrow and test that theory, I do think a bad run gives you a stronger determination to run well.

      2 miles? The bus ride must have been quick 😉 I forgot to say that my journey home ended up being quite complicated due to works on the track, so I had to catch a train and a bus, and felt very self-conscious in my sweaty gear! I did momentarily consider going back out of the station and running anyway, when the journey seemed more of a challenge than I had expected…

  3. […] Escape Gate « Fit Artist Running Blog […]

  4. Thanks for the info! I wish there was a running track the same quality as the one at Crystal palace around my area (West Berkshire) – might encourage me to get myself down there more often! It’s a shame that running on the pavement now is becoming more and more dangerous and we have to seek out running tracks! I must visit Crystal Palace… not seen those dinosaurs for years!

    • Is there really no track around your way, even within a school? I choose to use it for speed sessions, I don’t think I could cope with the round and round and round for more than about forty minutes!

  5. Isn’t that the very reason that you put in the raised beds?

    • 🙂 We will have one very sad little boy once the seeds go in.

  6. I agree about a good run following a bad run. Don’t be too hard on yourself – I think we sometimes need these little setbacks to help keep us on track…

  7. Well done for doing 10 miles and for listening to your body and making the best decision that day, it must have been incredibly frustrating but imagine if you’d pushed it and then ended up with a injury or ill and then missing the marathon just because of one run. I remember when I was doing a 20 mile training run and got to 19 miles and just couldn’t go any more, I couldn’t even jog the last bit home and just plodded dejectedly (sulky shoulders as we call it our house) but what would have been the point just to get one more mile.

    You’re doing brilliantly, have a good rest and come back refreshed xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

