Posted by: fitartist | April 6, 2011

4

In four days I will be taking on the Brighton Marathon in aid of Guide Dogs. You can sponsor my effort here.

Marathon week is a funny old time. All this training, months of it, feel like nothing. This morning I went out and ran just over two miles and it felt like hard work! This is the week where you become obsessed about small details like which socks you should wear on the big day, whether you are eating enough pasta and whether you can actually remember how to put one foot in front of the other. I haven’t been sleeping very well, partly because Hector has a cough (which I am trying to avoid by running to other side of the room when he starts one of his coughing fits and protecting my face whenever he sneezes at me, and partly because I lie awake thinking about the marathon. I did have a dream the other night where I ran it in 4 hours 47 minutes, which would be a PB by two minutes, I hope this is a prophecy.

I am being constantly stunned by the generosity of friends, family and ‘virtual’ friends I haven’t even met, who have been sponsoring me, I know that some of these people really have to count every penny, so feel quite humbled by this kindness. I am also amazed by some funny ideas people have about running and marathon training. Edward’s Mum was genuinely surprised (and disappointed?) that I wasn’t training every day, not realising that this is the lowest, slowest week of them all. I was reminded this morning at the nursery gates that people still don’t think of any other marathon than the London Marathon as being a ‘proper’ marathon. One of my Mum friends said: ‘So how far is it?’ and when I told her it’s 26.2 miles she was really taken aback. I suppose the benefit of this is that people are even more impressed by my effort when they hear it’s a ‘full marathon’ that I’m running. Even Edward, who you would think might have got the whole marathon thing by now, said last night, as we tucked into our noodle soup: ‘Shouldn’t you be eating lots of steak and protein?’ I think this just means that he’d like to eat lots of steak.

When I read the Brighton Marathon website and the details sent to me in the post, I am reminded that runners are asked not to listen to headphones whilst running. Normally I wouldn’t do this, I enjoy hearing people around me, chatting to other runners, soaking up the atmosphere and being aware of my surroundings. I do think this time I might just clip my iPod Shuffle on though, in case I hit a really dark spot, just one little track might be enough to see me through, like slurping a gel for a little energy boost. I am thinking a bit of Florence, some Morrissey, a Pixies or two and some Bjork might do it. Maybe not to other peoples’ taste, but just the trick for me.

Time: 22 minutes 25 seconds

Distance: 2.20 miles

Average Pace: 10.11

Best Pace: 8.00

Calories: 199

 

 

Responses

  1. Met Office now say 15C, sunny intervals, light SW wind.
    At the Brighton marathon training day one of the speakers admitted that the iPod ban was unenforceable, so if you plug in Wave of Mutilation on the Shoreham section, I think you can be confident that burly stewards won’t throw you off the course and confiscate your chip. They also promised that they’ve gone to some lengths to make that stretch more exciting.

  2. Excellent! Yes, I always see people with headphones at races (and usually tut!) but I think a marathon should make exceptions, we need all the help we can get!

  3. Maybe taking your ipod shuffle along will be like taking an umbrella when it’s threatening rain. Its very presence will guarantee that you won’t need it.

    • I hope so, I’ve taken it on a few long runs and not even plugged in. It’ll be reassuring to know it’s there though 😉

  4. 26.2 miles is a long way to go without any form of aural sustenance. I think you’ll be fine taking the iPod… and i bet you won’t be the only one either. Best of luck for Sunday, Adele.

    • Thanks Grant. I know you enjoy your Audiobooks now, it’s a really good idea. I do like to ‘tough it out’ though for a bit, not dip in too early. Daft isn’t it?!

  5. I’m planning on doing the same! A bit of Dog Days are Over is what I’m hoping will be enough to see me through a dark stage. I feel excited, sick and nervous all at once – can’t wait to see you there! Runcakerun after the marathon for sure x

    • ‘Dog Days’ is perfect, I get such a lift: ‘Run fast for your father…’ etc. Makes me smile.

  6. I’m no Marathon runner and I don’t intend to be one either. I do run up to around 10km though and I couldn’t do it without some music to keep me company. If I had to listen to my own thoughts running around in my head, I think I’d go mad! I don’t really understand why they would ban them on a closed course anyway, it can’t be for safety, there are no cars….


Leave a Reply

Categories

