Posted by: fitartist | April 25, 2011

Going faster with Trion:z

Erm, well at least I think that’s what’s happening! I was recently asked if I would like to try out a Trion:z ionic sports bracelet and, as I am intrigued to know what they actually do, I jumped at the chance. My lovely green bracelet arrived just after the Brighton Marathon, which is a shame because it would have been good to try it out at such a big event. Anyway, I have limited my testing to a few short runs in the sun and have felt ever so sporty with it gracing my wrist.

Having looked at the website and the literature that came with the bracelet, I now understand that the wearing of such a product can increase blood flow to a certain area leading to an increase in oxygen and nutrients. I’m not entirely sure how this will manifest itself in my running, but I’m willing to give it a try (though maybe two devices strapped to my creaky knees would be better?)! I wore the bracelet in the week following the marathon, imagining that it could help my recovery and I did have a speedy and uncomplicated recovery. During the runs where I have worn the Trion:z I have felt energetic, sprightly and have run at a good pace (though this might just be due to the lovely weather, a good marathon experience and a general joy at getting out to run). Here are the stats for a run I did the other day:

Time: 38 minutes 40 seconds

Distance: 4 miles

Average Pace: 09.41

Best Pace: 7.58

Calories: 435

Nothing outstanding there, but I did feel as if I was flying, even in the heat, and overtook every runner I saw ahead of me – woo-hoo! I don’t know if the Trion:z is supposed to make you go faster, longer or turn cartwheels down the street, but I will continue wearing it to see if it makes a difference, though it is difficult to assign credit to a bracelet when there are so many other factors that can contribute to improved performance. You can decide for yourself and find out more by visiting the website here.

One runner who is totally bowled over by the bracelet is Hector. He does this little routine where he puts on the Trion:z and runs really, really fast up and down the hall. He then takes it off and goes in slow motion. So there you go!

Responses

  1. Haha, I like the mental image of Hector. Nice run 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

