Posted by: fitartist | June 1, 2011

Juneathon Day 1: Dawn Chorus and a 10k Race

I’ve been awake since five o’clock, lying very still so as not to disturb the family who were sleeping sweetly next to me, and thinking in a slightly panicky way about Sunday’s Big Lunch that I – crazily – decided to organise for our road. The birds were singing happily outside while I thought hard about how to manage the moving of about fifty cars to allow my neighbours to party all afternoon long. And bunting. And road closure signs. And food. And craft materials. And. And. And. And then I eased myself carefully out of bed and went for a run. The immediate difference I noticed and enjoyed between Janathon and Juneathon is that I can run through the park at six o’clock in the morning. I saw a man ahead but was reassured when I saw his dog leaping out of the river, and even more reassured when I saw that it was a Spaniel – a Spaniel owner wouldn’t cause me any harm. I did a few laps of the newly opened South section of the park, enjoying all the lovely new paths and open access to the river, after all the rain we’ve had in the past few days, things were looking wonderfully lush. The air was good and fresh after yesterday’s storm but my asthma still troubled me, I think a trip to the nurse is called for and maybe I should have a go with the brown inhaler again (I’ve never really got on with them).

Juneathon Day 1:

Time: 29 minutes 16 seconds

Distance: 3.02 miles

Average Pace: 9.42

Best Pace: 8.03

Calories: 323

Pretty chuffed that I had run, eaten and showered by seven o’clock, especially as I have been feeling a bit stressed about managing Juneathon this year. June is becoming the new December – with Hector’s birthday at the end of the month, we are suddenly filling every spare moment with family get-togethers, some of which will be in remote – yet beautiful – places…with the chance of a shaky internet connection. Arrrghghg! Watch this space!

Which brings me to Monday’s race, the BUPA London 10k. I entered the race ages ago, in a flurry of excitement prompted by the Janathon get-together, and it came around all too quickly, as these things do. It being a Bank Holiday Monday, we set off as a family for a day out, with Edward and Hector all set to spend some time over at the sandpit in St James’ Park:

An unexpected treat was bumping into HelsBels:

And we then headed over to see Hauling my Carcass and EatingTrees:

After a quick catch-up, I joined the ridiculously long queue for the loos then jogged over to the start. I was soon joined by HMC and ET and we chatted excitedly about the race, with ET wearing his Vibrams for the first time in a race. I liked the way the start was done, with each wave moving forward and having its own countdown, it felt as if you were the front-runners, for a bit. We wished each other luck and off we went. I had hoped to get a similar or slightly faster time than at the Peckham 10k the other week (57 minutes), so legged it off, running my first mile in eight minutes (as Edward kindly pointed out, this is where I went wrong), and kept up the pace a bit for the second mile, but was soon feeling super thirsty and down-trodden by the heat (I find a slightly later race start – 11am – a tricky one to fuel for) and it wasn’t long before my asthma kicked in. This was a complete surprise to me as I am never normally concerned about it, so of course I wasn’t carrying an inhaler. I just didn’t have any kick in me, and really struggled the whole way round. It’s a nice course and was being tested as part of the build up to the Olympic Games, with various events happening around the 10k race itself. I enjoyed the run up towards the finish line facing Buckingham Palace, far better than the other direction as with the London Marathon, but there was no way I could go for a sprint finish! I hobbled over the finish line with an  odd clicky knee, I think brought on by some cycling over the weekend, and made my way over to the sandpit 🙂

All concerns about a crappy show were wiped away by a lovely Mexican lunch with HMC and his family and ET at Wahaca in Covent Garden. Yum!

Time: 1 hour 1 minute 59 seconds

Distance: 6.16 miles

Average Pace: 10.04

Best Pace: 5.06

Calories: 557

Responses

  1. It’s funny how a man on his own looks dodgy, but as soon as his dog appears, he doesn’t seem dodgy anymore! I’m exactly the same.

    • He was walking quite ‘butchly’ and the dog just changed the whole image. I even got a ‘morning!’.

  2. Love the picture of Hector, he looked like he was having great fun!

  3. nice start to Juneathon!

  4. Me and my million chins! Lovely to see you 😀

  5. Still getting around to various Juneathon bloggers… I was attracted to click on you for the name “Fit Artist” as I’m one too, I suppose 🙂

    Love your blog. I like ones with lots of fun photos. The Big Lunch, too, oh yum! That walnut pie, I’ve never had such a thing… I think I will dream of it tonight…

    Great run! Hope you get the asthma thing under control. I sometimes wonder if I don’t have a touch of it, as I do get wheezy in high humidity when I am winding out…


Leave a Reply

Categories

