Posted by: fitartist | June 28, 2011

Land of my fathers

Well, actually my mother, my father is not proper Welsh. Now this has got to be one of, if not the most beautiful runs I have ever done. The other weekend, we drove for seven plus hours, well into the early hours of the morning, to the incredible landscape of North West Wales to stay with Edward’s family who were visiting the area. Readers may know that I am in fact Welsh, having been born and brought up in North Wales (though I have now lived in England for longer than I lived in Wales, which feels odd!), but I have never visited this area before, and how disappointed I felt not to have taken advantage of this when it was on my doorstep. We were staying in a little town called Nefyn, just a short walk from an untouched and quiet beach, where we had use of a beach hut, so could sip tea after a bracing swim in the Irish Sea, how very, very civilised! I knew that I would want to run here, so had packed my gear, and headed out on my own on Sunday morning. For some reason my Garmin packed up completely, freezing its display as soon as I switched it on (I think I know how to fix it), so this was to be a run of mystery in terms of pace and distance but, after a few minutes, I realised that this was an entirely positive thing as I paused to absorb the views and breathe deeply, smelling the fresh, clean air. For once, I had also decided to carry my camera, not something I normally do because it’s quite big, but I’m so glad I did.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I will let the images speak for themselves, but needless to say, you will all no doubt want to go there right away, well don’t, it’s mine!

Responses

  1. looks really nice, i’ve been to Northwest Wales but probably missed the good spots as none of it was as nice as this. glad you took you camera 🙂

    • Juno, it’s so beautiful, so lush and we had lovely weather the whole four days we were there. The water was warm enough to swim, Hector pottered on the beach all day long, we tried sea kayacking and Edward had a surfing lesson at ‘Hell’s Mouth’, a really gorgeous break!

  2. It looks a beautiful place. I I am pleased to see though that no matter how remote it is you are never very far from a digger.

    • And Hector is never very far from my thoughts…:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

