Posted by: fitartist | January 18, 2012

Grey

Today is a grey day. Grey sky, grey mood and a very grey moment dropping Hector off this morning as he was shouting: ‘I don’t want to go to school!’, not how I want to start my day. I waited momentarily to allow the drizzle to subside and felt the positive effects of my run about one mile in as I waved at the bird-watching man and a team of volunteers who were carrying out some kind of river clean-up on the opposite bank. On my return I did some clever mirror positioning and confirmed my suspicions: I am going grey from behind, with the little fluffy wisps at the back of my neck creeping in a silvery line amongst the curls. If I had those lovely greying temples or a shock of white through my fringe I might embrace it, but this is just plain odd. To dye or not to dye…?

Distance: 3.12 miles

Time: 31 minutes 01 seconds

Average Pace: 9.56

Best Pace: 1.35 (eh?!)

Calories: 277

Responses

  1. It is horribly grey today! Sorry to hear about Hector not wanting to go to school. My son was okay at Infants, but he didn’t cope well with the transition to Juniors and Sunday nights/Monday mornings were especially hard. Got through it in the end though, with lots of encouragement and hugs. 🙂 I’ve got a streak of grey forming in my fringe, but the hairs are a lot thicker than my others (I’m a blonde) and they stick up all the time! Very annoying! Glad your run had some positive effects amongst all the greyness! 🙂

    • Yes, it would be unusual for a run not to give me a lift. This is only Hector’s second week, so we shouldn’t expect too much, but he was flatly refusing to go this morning, really tough 😦 I’m going to be full-on with the hugs when I collect him shortly!

  2. Nothing wrong with grey hair but if they bother you then dye it. I dye my hair anyway so wouldn’t know if I was grey or not! I am curious though as to how you had suspicions you were going grey at the back of your head? Did Hector very ungentlemanly point it out?

    • No, it was Edward! I can sort of see these hairs if I turn my head sideways, but I needed a proper look because they’ve always been very light anyway. I have had my hair all sorts of wonderful colours in the past, so maybe this is my excuse to be bold again.

  3. 1.35 pace! Like lightning!

    • No really, that must be a blip, there was no point in the run where I felt I ran that fast, very odd!


Leave a Reply

Categories

