Posted by: fitartist | January 26, 2012

Sporty

After 24 hours that featured mostly coughing, spluttering, vomiting and a temperature that peaked at 39.9, I’m afraid all I have to offer is one mile, not even a fast one. I have set myself a minimum distance of three miles for each run and have managed to stick to this for the past few Janathons and Juneathons, so this is a disappointment for me at this stage. Edward was late home and Hector was poorly on the sofa so, after dinner I said: ‘I am running one mile and I am picking up chocolate on the way back’.

So there.

I couldn’t decide if the slimy men in the queue at the shop were looking lasciviously at my wobbly bottom, or having an inward monologue that went something like this:

‘Look at that woman! She is pure athlete! She must have run miles. She has earned that chocolate!’

Pure athlete

(for the record, in my excitement I couldn’t decide which flavour to get, so got both. We are only eating the hazelnut one. For now).

Distance: 1.02 miles

Time: 9 minutes 37 seconds

Average Pace: 9.28

Best Pace: 7.10

Calories: 49

Responses

  1. Well – you did one more mile than if you had sat around in the sofa. You totally deserve that chocolate. Hope tomorrow is better.

  2. I hope Hector feels better soon. It’s horrible when the kids are poorly. Well done for squeezing in a run, and you definitely deserve a treat! 🙂

  3. The chocolate was good 😉 The past few days just go to show how much being the parent of a poorly child really challenges your ability to get out and run, it would normally have been put to one side.

    Here’s to a healthier week next week!


Leave a Reply

Categories

