Posted by: fitartist | June 20, 2012

Hot heads

What joy to have some sunshine again! I headed up, up, up to the top of Blythe Hill this morning though pushed on instead of my usual sneaky stop at the top to ‘enjoy the breathtaking view’. I was distracted by two men shouting at each other, it seemed one was a cyclist and one a dog-walker so I guess maybe the dog had gone in front of the bike, but really, I don’t think it warranted the kind of language that was being thrown across the grass! On I went into Ladywell Fields, looking briefly down river to see if I could spot the kingfisher. Feeling strong, I carried on to the gym, where I stepped hard uphill then pushed my muscles to their limits on the weights machines. One move I am particularly digging is a pulling action where you turn your upper body and really get deep into those lateral abdominal muscles, rock hard they are! Once more I was distracted by hot-headed men, posturing over some petty disagreement. These guys need to cool down, find some focus and remember why they are doing what they do.

Today’s inspiration for me has been looking at Olympic hopefuls in action. Next week at Hector’s school they are having a day to celebrate the London Olympics and he can go dressed as an athlete from past or present. As much as I would love to get him a bushy moustache, a little afro wig and a vest with ‘Daley’ across his chest, I think I will show him some videos of today’s athletes and see what he comes up with. Here is elite athlete Christian Malcolm getting ready for action:

 

Christian is supported by Mizuno, who will be opening the Mizuno Performance Centre in London during the Olympic games where, from July 24-August 12, you will be able to watch live sporting events, try out the Mizuno brand, compete against your friends and get yourself fitted out in the perfect running shoe for your style of running.

Distance: 3.04 miles

Time: 33 minutes 28 seconds

Average Pace: 11.01

Best Pace: 7.15

Calories: 328

Stepper: 20 minutes

Weights: 40 minutes

Responses

  1. Blimey Adele so much fitness, you must have done some major toning during Juneathon! ( um not that I am saying you were not toned before!)

    • Ah, thanks! I am still wobbly in places, lots of work to do, it takes time. The legs are looking pretty strong though, yay!

  2. You’re really into the gym these days, cool, I love the gym! Are you going to the Mizuno Performance Centre press launch thingy?

    • I might do, it’s school holidays though, so I need to see if I can take H along too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

