Posted by: fitartist | July 30, 2012

Popping out

It’s been an exciting sporting week in the Prince Hill household, with two viewings of the Olympic Torch as it made its way across London. First we went to our local relay, outside Lewisham Hospital, with a warm and welcoming crowd, bubbling with excitement. Then we went to support the Southwark leg as it passed close by Edward’s work on Thursday. It was interesting to observe the difference in support there, where office workers poured out of tall buildings, filmed the whole thing on their iPhones, then went back to work, all quite quiet and with very little excitement.

The Lewisham Torch

After the Southwark Torch

On Friday we became more and more excited as we watched the most incredible opening ceremony, trying hard to keep Hector awake long enough to see at least a bit of it. He did very well and got a second wind during the musical/dance section, dancing around the room and trying turn up the volume. Yesterday the real fun began when we trekked over to Kensington to witness the athletic might of the men’s road race. I had to step back from the road as they passed en masse and at speed, the feeling of power was immense.

Tour de Londres

This morning I remembered that I, too, have sporting goals of sorts, so pulled on my running shoes to tackle a short run then hard gym session. Imagine my crestfallen expression as I noticed the little toe of my right foot poking out of the side and the big toe of my left foot popping out to say hello. My faithful Asics Gel 1160s! I suppose I can’t complain, they have seen me through training for a marathon, a half marathon and numerous distances in between (yes, I know the shoe people say you should change them every so many miles, but I’m rebelling a bit here). Time to look around and see if I can find a bargain online.

Peepo!

I trawled around for a bit, trying to find the exact same shoes, but realised I actually yearn for something a bit more funky, yes, you read correctly, I am fancying a bit of colour, gasp! I’m very much a black tights and plain top kind of runner, with a practical-looking shoe to finish the look, but I found myself on the Northern Runner website staring at these lovelies. I know they are not a replacement for the Asics 1160s, but I just love the way they look, the sexy, earthy upper and the flash of colour underneath. Maybe it’s just something about trail running shoes, but these caught my eye too, look at their zig-zaggy bottoms! I think, if Asics want to keep my attention, they need to get creative with colour in their everyday running shoes.

My thirst for colour led me to have a little shufty at t-shirts – a quick look at my running pile shows a penchant for black, faded black and grey. I found some colourful options which also boast UV protection in the fabric, oh how happy I am that it is now sunny enough to be concerned about such things! Some also have anti-bacterial qualities and, having recently resorted to throwing all of my running tops in the wash on a very hot setting in an attempt to eradicate the wet dog smell, this definitely gets my attention. Ahem.

Distance: 1.85 miles (I said it was a short run!)

Time: 19 minutes 18 seconds

Average Pace: 10.25

Best Pace: 8.01

Calories: 228

Followed by some good hard weight pushing/pulling/lifting at the gym.

Responses

  1. Ooh both very pretty looking. How about these… http://www.asicsamerica.com/footwear/running-shoes/gel-noosa-tri-7-t264n-womens/

    • Oh hello sexy shoes! They tick all the boxes 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

