Posted by: fitartist | August 23, 2012

Give me colour, now!

The other week I was bemoaning the fact that there didn’t seem to be many colourful running shoes around to act as a new and funky replacement for my old and worn out Asics. I was reassured when Fortnight Flo pointed me towards these beauties as I began my search for some rainbow footwear. I have found myself gazing longingly at pages such as this Millet Sports one, drooling over what seem to be quite revolutionary colour ways and mixes that sometimes border on the garish, but still keep me glued to my screen. This ladies’ shoe from Newton has caught my eye, another trail shoe – I wonder if trail shoes are given the bright brush to counteract the layers of mud they will no doubt acquire as soon as they hit the ground.

Recently all my wishes were granted when I was invited to attend a launch of a new shoe at the Mizuno Performance Centre (more of this in the next post) and was presented with a lovely gift:

My lovely new shoes

Some very special Limited Edition 2012 Wave Riders! I have been bouncing along, mostly with my head down, catching a glimpse of their flashy laces and shiny toes with a big smile on my face. Well, I say I have been bouncing along, I haven’t been getting out as much as I would like to, with it being the school holidays, I even went through a ‘packing my running gear and then unpacking my running gear’ thing for our impromptu camping trip at the weekend (we used our old two-person tent, by the way, bad move), and regretted it when I saw the lovely woods next to our campsite and the expanse of beach in Holkham. Oh well.

I have, however, been able to get out for the odd mum and son run, not long and only fast at times, but certainly a heart-warming kind of outing. Last week Hector asked to go to the running track, so off we went. First of all we did a combination of jog, walk and – his thing – sprint around the whole track and then he wanted to sit down and have a snack. As we sat there and Hector ate his banana he looked sad. I asked him what was wrong and he said: ‘It’s just so big’. We decided that the people we have been watching so closely, such as Mo Farah and Usain Bolt, make the track look  much smaller, so we broke up the 100m stretch into smaller chunks and had little races with walks or jogs back. Short but very sweet.

Yay!

Responses

  1. Swooooooon! I love them – I’ve been looking at the Merrell UK fb page and they’re launching some awesome colours in the autumn range. I think it is a trail shoe thing. You are a lucky lady to get those for free. I’m even thinking about getting into barefoot just for the colour ranges…

    • I saw that link you shared on FB, they were rather delicious shoes. Oh dear, get us, drooling over shoes!

  2. Thanks for the links – my “white” trainers are now grey (not to mention, stinky) and need replacing with something a little brighter. Your new purple shoes are terrific!

  3. gorgeous shoes!!

  4. […] was also given a lovely pair of Mizuno Wave Rider shoes whilst at the centre, and have really enjoyed running in them since – I’ve had […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

