Posted by: fitartist | November 9, 2012

PB or not PB?

That is the question. I ran around the track this morning. I wanted to see how fast I could run 5k. My legs have been a bit heavy since Tuesday so I wasn’t expecting much. I set off and, at the end of the first lap I glanced at my Garmin, which wasn’t registering distance or pace, so I fiddled around for a moment and still nothing was happening so I just kept going. Part way round lap 2 it picked up a signal but the pace was something daft like 24 minute miles. On I went, gritting my teeth, slightly disheartened by the lack of cooperation from my wrist mate, but determined to stick to the pace I had reached. When I finished my 5k I was slightly disappointed with the time as it appeared on my watch, but boosted by the kind comments from the gym manager who was marvelling at how ‘strong’ I had looked all the way around πŸ™‚

Now I’m back home I’ve uploaded the run and this is what it says:

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/241568849

So, any ideas? Did I run under 26 minutes? I’m hoping the 25.45 ‘moving time’ is the one. If so, I’m getting there, if not, must work harder.

Responses

  1. I reckon so. Looking at the stats it says you hardly moved for the first 11 seconds and the first mile is so out of sync with the rest of the time, it must have been a dodgy reading. It’s a yes from me. Great effort. Also, were you going over 34ft hurdles at some points??

    • Great! Yeah, running fast just isn’t enough, I have to throw in the odd obstacle along the way (I have no idea what that’s all about, weirdy Garmin)!

  2. Hello, I think you ran it in 27.42 From what you describe, you started the timer before the garmin had locked on to the satellites, but the time you recorded is still the time you were running – the timer function would still have worked ok.

    It’s so annoying when that happens…

    • Oh no! I think, for now, I will go with Tom’s comment πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

