Posted by: fitartist | December 20, 2012

I feel good…

Da-da-da-da-da-da-dum! There I was, in the school playground, surrounded by umbrellas and rain-coated parents, embracing the drizzle in my lycra running gear when a fellow mum tapped me on the shoulder:

“You’re dedicated!” she said “You can do it for all of us!”

Good and grimy

Good and grimy

So I did.

I don’t put a great deal of thought into my school run runs, I just turn up in my gear, drop Hector off and run away(!) in a randomly chosen direction. Today it was upwards towards Hilly Fields. On Saturday I am run director for our pre-Christmas Parkrun, so wanted to check out the course and see just how muddy it is. We have asked people to don their Christmassy gear to get into the festive spirit, but I think it might be wise to choose wellies over running shoes this time! I pushed hard up the hills and slightly wussed out along the off-road paths that our course takes, choosing the pavement over the ‘pond’. I did, however, head up ‘The Hill’ and splashed through a mud-slide with a big smile on my face. I’m just glad I had on my trusty trail shoes and not my pretty purple ones:

Squelch, squelch

Squelch, squelch

I was absolutely drenched when I got back, but felt great: there’s nothing like a wet, muddy morning run to lift you out of the doldrums. It looks like the rain is here to stay, no white Christmas for us Londoners, so I should get used to it, especially as January approaches and we have JogBlog on our backs, nagging encouraging us to sign up for Janathon 2013. If you don’t already know about Janathon, it’s the slightly evil twin sister of the warmer and less gritty Juneathon, where a growing group of runners/joggers/plodders get together in virtual and real space to share their love of getting out and about in running shoes. The idea is that you get out every day for the month of January and run/walk/cycle/spin/gym/skip/whatever it is that gets your heart pumping and then blog about it. You can find out all the ins and outs and sign your life away up here. Watch out though, it’s addictive and you will find yourself getting up in the middle of the night or running home from the pub to fit in a run. Really.

Distance: 3.29 miles

Time: 35 minutes 47 seconds

Average Pace: 10.52

Best Pace: 7.44

Calories: 432

Responses

  1. I was running in the rain too this morning, just having a drink before putting myself through more rain on the foam roller.

    • It’s very satisfying isn’t it? That post-wet-run cuppa is just perfect.

  2. Nice red shoes!

    • They’re Salamon, and come in a really nice purple version too. They’re pretty good on the mud (I reviewed them a while ago).

  3. You were right first time, she is nagging us!

  4. LOL I did run home from the pub at least once! What a great way of fitting on your run – an inspiration!

  5. Quite saddened we didn’t get any snow for Christmas here in London.

    I’m in for the January madness.


Leave a Reply

Categories

