Posted by: fitartist | April 8, 2013

Hotting up

The sun’s out! It’s amazing the difference a bit of sunshine will make to a run, and the dryer, grippier ground at Hilly Fields on Saturday made all the difference, with a total of 25 runners getting a new Hilly Fields Parkrun PB! I set out with a few seconds improvement in mind, but – according to my Garmin time, the official time was slower – I knocked almost a minute off my best time so far πŸ™‚ I was well chuffed. I wasn’t sure how my lack of running during the Easter holidays (just one run last week) would affect my ability to tackle those hills, but I needn’t have worried. I do worry though about how I will manage to maintain any kind of fitness over the summer holidays, if I can’t get out over the shorter Easter break. I will need a plan of action.

One option I suppose is the gym in the evenings, but it doesn’t come close to a nice sunny run. I do have a couple of cool new tops to try out in the gym though, sent to me recently by QTag, who sell running and leisure clothing online at really great prices. I’ve been feeling very bright in my ‘Girly Cool T-shirt’ in hot pink (yes, I know, I feel very obvious in it!), and I will be bravely getting my arms out in the gym to show off my ‘Girly Cool Vest’ in Kelly green, which is a really nice, eye-catching colour to run in. Both tops have wicking properties and are very cool for the gym or outdoors when we do eventually (please!) get some warmer weather. I think QTag would be a good point of contact for running clubs and groups, with the option to buy good quality clothing in bulk and with a wide range of colours to choose from.

Hot Pink and Kelly Green

Hot Pink and Kelly Green

In the meantime, I will try and get Hector out on his bike to accompany me on a run, and attempt to motivate myself away from the comfort of the sofa and my growing crochet project, to push and pull a bit in the gym of an evening, we’ll see.

Responses

  1. Oooh. Shiny new course pb. Yay!


Leave a Reply

Categories

