Posted by: fitartist | June 4, 2013

School Runnings

Back to school day, back to dropping Hector off in my running gear and getting some sideways glances. I was apprehensive, what with ‘this knee’ and the lack of running last week (though I did do some vigorous up and down sand-dune sessions to keep warm on the beach), but it felt good to get going again. Yesterday I went for a health check at the pharmacy: I received a letter saying: ‘Now you are in the 40-75 age group, you are entitled to have a free NHS Health Check!’. Once I’d got over the initial horror of being in such a category, I thought ‘Why not?!’ and made an appointment. Judging by the response to some of my answers, I’m guessing a lot of the people who go for these health checks eat a diet of read-meals and struggle to get off the sofa to reach their fag packet and beer can. I’m sure the pharmacist didn’t believe me when I said I cook all our food from scratch and exercise for many hours a week, and so on. So, my cholesterol was good but my blood pressure was slightly higher than it should be (he suggested I cut down on salt. I don’t eat salt), probably due to the fact that I’d just had a load of blood squeezed out of my finger and felt a bit wobbly. I was then weighed and had my height and girth measured. It seems I have a BMI of 27 which makes me overweight. I know a lot has been written about BMI scales being unrealistic and inaccurate, but I guess I could do with losing a few pounds, but really, overweight?!

So, in an effort to be more category- and scale-appropriate, I ran a few miles and I did some good hard weights at the gym.

Distance: 3.78 miles

Time: 36 minutes 14 seconds

Average Pace: 9.35

Best Pace: 6.26

Calories: 458

Responses

  1. Well done you for fazing the pharmacist with your healthy lifestyle! Which on a bizarre tangent, reminds me to ask if you Big Lunched this year?

    • We didn’t Big Lunch, I didn’t feel like organising it – it comes round so fast, I thought it should be a bi-annual event. I’m trying not to think about it too much because, the one year we don’t do it, the weather is gorgeous, grrrrrr. We are having a Big Picnic though, in the park 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

