Posted by: fitartist | October 30, 2014

The Primal Kitchen Goes Chocolatey

I have tried Primal Kitchen bars before and liked them, so was definitely up for trying the new Hazelnut and Cocoa Bar. I have been having some fuelling/refuelling challenges recently, so I am really keen to try new ways of getting some energy before, during and after training and competing. These bars are interesting because they don’t contain any grains, gluten, refined sugar, soy, vegetable oil or any additives, preservatives, flavouring or colouring, so tick many boxes for people who follow gluten-free or low-carb diets. Being a paleo bar, there are fewer ingredients (just six in the Hazelnut and Cocoa Bar), all of which are organic and fair trade.

Chewy goodness

Chewy goodness

The idea behind producing a chocolate flavoured bar is so those following a particular diet don’t have to miss out on treats. I did like the bars (I would have taken a photo of the bars themselves, but I gobbled them up pretty quickly, a good sign!), but don’t find I need a chocolatey flavour in a fruit/fuel bar (but then I can just eat a bar of chocolate if I want to). I like the chewy texture and the chunks of nut add to this, giving a bit of bite. You can find The Primal Kitchen bars, costing Β£1.49 each at Ocado, Superdrug, Tesco and leading health stores, look out for the Almond and Cashew, Brazil Nut and Cherry and, my favourite, Coconut and Macadamia.

Responses

  1. those look good! definitely getting some

    • They are yummy, but I could quickly eat two in succession!

  2. […] may recall a review I wrote not long ago of the Primal Hazelnut and Cocoa Bars, perfect for fuelling on the go, especially if you’re following a paleo or gluten-free diet. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

